TSS and Weekly Geeks: My favorite reading place

This week, for a Geeky assignment, how about a picture? A self portrait of sorts. I think it would be fun if you all took a picture of yourself (or have someone help you most likely) reading your current book (so we can see what it is) in your favorite reading spot. Then post it! It can be a Wordless Weekly Geek if you want! Or explanations included if you want that.

My kitchen table with my cup of coffee and books. Notice that a piece of notebook paper is my bookmark for Zadie Smith’s Changing My Mind: Occasional Essays. It’s my favorite reading place because it’s free of distractions.

What’s your favorite reading place?

34 thoughts on “TSS and Weekly Geeks: My favorite reading place

  1. I need to get better about writing my thoughts on books down as I’m reading them. Partciuarly since it takes me a bit of time after I’ve read them to get the review written.

  2. What an adorable napkin holder!!! I read at the table too, but it’s not my favorite place because I can’t get the book at a good angle without a reflection on the pages!

  3. I do sometimes read at the table, when I’m cooking something and need to keep an eye out (this doesn’t happen often—the cooking, I mean! LOL).

    You wouldn’t want to see a photo of me right now…my hair is sticking up all over the place.

    A photo of my reading spot…maybe. Usually it’s on the couch.

    Love your table “vignette,” with the fruit and everything.

    Here’s my salon:

    http://accidentalmoments.wordpress.com/2011/01/09/the-sunday-salon-jan-9/

  4. Your reading space looks so inviting. Complete with a healthy apple. I invariably end up sprawled across my bed no matter where I start out.

  5. Great book!1 Love your photo!

    BTW, I have started a weekly feature on Sunday, Sharing Poetry With You, where I would be sharing any poem that has made an impact on my. It could be a classic one or a contemporary one, and anything in between. Today’s Sunday Salon is all about that.

  6. A cup of coffee is a great companion :)
    I have a very comfy chair I love to sit in but usually end up doing most of my reading in bed.

  7. I usually read on the couch if I’m downstairs, and if I’m upstairs I read in an overstuffed leather chair in my room. I also use a notebook and sticky notes to record my thoughts…. many of which I look back at when I’m through reading and think “why did I think that was important?” Your table is lovely and looks like a cozy spot for some tea and books!

  8. That looks like an inviting place but I have to admit to being more of a sofa or bed reader with pillows and blankets. But washed down with a the requisite warm beverage and stack of books, we all end up in the same place, right? Lost in a book. Nice photo!

  9. My favorite reading place is in my bed, curled up in my little bed chair under my blankets with a box of cookies. I wish I had an endless supply of cookies. That would make my heart happy. :p

  10. I have a corner of the couch under an OTT light that is my preferred reading spot. Or else out on the deck in the SkyChair. But I just realized I’m not actually reading a book right now! I’m in the middle of reading this week’s NYT Book Review on the nook, though, and the latest issue of THE HORN BOOK.

  11. I love to read in bed, I always have. next best is couch or comfy chair though that makes me sleepier than reading in bed does. I also like to read in my cubicle at work during my lunch hour

  12. My favorite spots are curled up on the couch or in bed with a hot cup of tea. I have started keeping book notes in a small notebook I was given for Christmas and hope make this a habit when I read. Have a lovely week!

  13. Interesting…I’ve always wanted to be one of the people who reads at a desk or table, but I’m not. I have to have somewhere more comfortable, like a overstuffed chair or couch.

  14. Cool! My favorite reading place is my bed or couch–just depends. I’ll work on taking a pic and posting. I love this assignment!

  15. When i was a teenager i often read at the kitchen table over food. Now though i find the chairs just a bit too uncomfortable to read for very long.

  16. That looks like such a pleasant spot.

    I love reading out on my deck. One of the chairs has a two-tiered glass table beside it, and it’s the perfect place to put my drink or rest my book if I stop to think about something.

  17. My kitchen table is always cluttered with kids’ homework and school supplies (it’s where they all study)! So the only reading I do at the table is the daily newspaper and occassionally a magazine.

    I usually read either on the sofa or in a chair by the fireplace.

    By the way, I didn’t know that Zadie Smith had a collection of essays out. Will have to keep my eye out for that one.

    • Favorite reading place is on the love seat in the living room. Coffee table to the left with it’s pile of books. I have a t.v table that sits in front of me, holds my laptop and coffee. And of course have my comfy blanket which I can pull down as needed!

  18. My big comfy chair with a quilt on it that my grandmother made. It’s outside on my patio (sounds weird I know) but since I live in California I can enjoy it year round.

  19. Where isn’t my favorite reading spot? This table. That sofa. That chair. That other chair. My bed. On the front steps. On the back porch. I

    It would be hard to narrow down…

  20. I put papers as bookmarks in my books, too! Or receipts, or strands of yarns…
    What a nice spot to read! Being free of distractions is a huge advantage! My spot is either the bed, or that corner of the couch where I can fold myself under a soft cover :)

  21. I had not thought about “favorite place for reading” in a long while as I am now so happy to grab moments here and there, wherever I am. But I have had fun thinking about favorite places through the years – thanks for sparking those memories! And by the way, that photo is begging to be an oil painting, so rich and lush…great job!

  22. I find it interesting you read at your table! Think my rear end wouldn’t like that much for lack of cushion (though I guess I do read at a desk most of the time since I typically read at lunch).

Comments are closed.