Review: Flight Vol. 7

Flight Vol. 7

edited by Kazu Kibuishi

284 pages

Publication Date: July 20, 2010

Publisher: Villard

I’ve read the previous six volumes in the Flight series, so it was a no-brainer to check out volume seven from the library. Flight 7 is one of the better volumes in the series but it’s still not better than my favorite which is volume 3. This volume included stories from series veterans like Kean Soo who returned with another “Jellaby” story and Michel Gagné with “The Saga of Rex”, an intergalactic story of a lovable puppy.

One of the great things about the series is that most of the volumes are suitable for young kids to read and entertaining for adults to pick up too. I found this true for volume 7 also. It’s a volume that my kids can easily read and I won’t feel uneasy about it.

Another great thing about the series is the beautiful artwork with each story. I don’t think I’ve ever read one story from this series and hated the artwork. The stories match the artwork beautifully. Some of my favorite stories in this volume include “Premium Cargo” by Kostas Kiriakakis about an airman who steals a very special package and realizes that it’s time to send it back. It’s definitely a tear-jerker that left me wanting to know more about the characters.

Click to enlarge the image.

Cory Godbey’s “Onere and Piccola” is a mythology story about love that is so beautiful.

Click to enlarge picture.

So if you haven’t read any of the volumes from this series, what are you waiting for? Each volume is a stand-alone so you don’t have to worry about reading them in order. The Flight series is one of the best graphic anthologies you can read. Highly recommended.

10 thoughts on “Review: Flight Vol. 7

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Review: Flight Vol. 7 « 1330v -- Topsy.com

  2. Since my library recently amalgamated with several others in the area, I have more Flight books to borrow! Horray! Doesn’t look like they have #7 yet, but they’ve got most of the others now.

  3. I love the artistry in those panels! So pretty. I should give this series a go. It sounds like something I’d really enjoy. The panel with the woman with the very long hair especially appeals to me.

  4. I have never heard of these books, but am intrigued now for sure! The artwork is indeed beautiful and I am eager to try to find these now. Great review, and thanks for including the illustrations!

  5. Pingback: Kazu Kibuishi – Flight, Vols. 7 & 8 « Fyrefly's Book Blog

Comments are closed.