Review: Bookhunter by Jason Shiga

  • Bookhunter
  • Jason Shiga
  • 144 pages
  • Publication Date: May 2007
  • Publisher: Sparkplug Comics
  • Source: Library

 

 

The year: 1973.

The place: Oakland, California.

Special Agent Bay is a detective for the Library Police. Chasing down bad guys, finding priceless books, and arresting people who steal library books is all just part of the job. But when he’s called to the scene of a thief at Oakland Main Library, the case may be too hard even for him to solve.

I really enjoyed this book. Bookhunter is definitely a book geared toward librarians and anyone’s interested in libraries. There’s a lot of technical terms in the book about bookmaking, cataloging and other things. I wasn’t used to the terms and became a little bogged down in them, but they’re pretty important for the story.

(click on the picture to enlarge)

I loved the concept of a library police that’s dedicated to book thief and other book-related crimes, especially now as libraries all over the country are dealing with budget cuts. For a graphic novel about libraries, there’s a lot of action and it was so much fun to read.

I highly recommend this book.

6 thoughts on “Review: Bookhunter by Jason Shiga

  1. Oh wow, I bet I would love this book! Books about books are one of my favorite types of reads. I am going to be looking for this one. Thanks for the excellent review. Must find this!

  2. I love the idea of library police! How about book police to arrest people that mistreat books? But not police to arrest people with too many unread books on their shelves!

  3. This sounds charming and given that I live not too far from Oakland I feel like I should give it a try! There aren’t many books set in Oakland, CA as far as I know.

Leave a Reply

