Thankfully Reading Weekend

It’s that time of the year again! Time for  Thankfully Reading Weekend which is hosted by Jen from Devourer of Books, Candace from Beth Fish Reads, and Jenn from Jenn’s Bookshelves. The event officially starts this Friday but since the only homework that I have is to read a few articles and poems, I decided to start today!  I have a stack of books lined up for this week. I wanted to do something a little different, so instead of just showing you my stack I want to also give you an excerpt from one of the books I’m reading.

 

The Weird Sisters

Eleanor Brown

Publication Date: January 20, 2011

We came home because we were failures. We wouldn’t admit that, of course, not at first, not to ourselves, and certainly not to anyone else. We said we came home because our mother was ill, because we needed a break, a momentary pause before setting off for the Next Big Thing. But the truth was, we had failed, and rather than let anyone else know, we crafted careful excuses and alibis, and wrapped them around ourselves like a cloak to keep out the cold truth.

Isn’t that a great excerpt? Happy Thanksgiving!

 

12 thoughts on “Thankfully Reading Weekend

Comments are closed.