Review: Bone: Tall Tales by Jeff Smith

Bone: Tall Tales

Jeff Smith and Tom Sniegeski

128 pages

Publication Date: August 1, 2010

Publisher: Scholastic

Source: Personal Library

 

Bone: Tall Tales is a collection of tales about a larger than life ancestor of the Bone cousins from the Bone series. Big Johnson Bone is a guy who isn’t afraid of anything but sitting still. In the stories Big Johnson goes on one adventure after another fighting the personification of winter, rat creatures and more. The tales are humorous with plenty of outrageous twists to keep readers entertained. Any specific details about the plot and I’ll just spoil the stories.

Bone: Tall Tales is not another volume in the Bone series but a companion book. These stories don’t have any of the darkness that the series has, so I think it’s a perfect read for children who haven’t read the series yet. I also think that fans of the series will enjoy this book though it’s not as great the series.

Readers of the Bone series shouldn’t pass this companion book up.

 

12 thoughts on “Review: Bone: Tall Tales by Jeff Smith

  1. Aarti reviewed this book as well, and really seemed to like it. It’s nice to see your review as well, because now the book is on my radar again! I am glad you had a good time with it!

  2. My Rocketboy has been reluctant to start the Bone series (they’re black and white! ugg!) but he did read this companion book, and he really liked it. I’m hoping this will whet his appetite for more.

    • Andi, the series comes in individual volumes that are in color. Rocketboy will probably like those better instead of reading the huge all volumes-in-one edition.

  3. I haven’t read this series either (I’m so far behind on GNs it’s sad) but this looks cute. I think I might already have it- so I should go look!

  4. I haven’t read the Bone series but students LOVE them! I just bought this one for the school, thanks to Scholastic Galleys. I’m thrilled to read mom/bloggers reviews and thoughts and may pick up the series after my reading challenge ends!

Comments are closed.