Sunday Salon: NaNoWriMo, PiBoldMo, and book bans

Good morning! Right now the sun isn’t up, the house is quiet, and I have a nice large cup of coffee in front of me. Today will be a great day. While my kids are off to a nearby Halloween/birthday party, I’ll be making plans for two writing challenges that start next month: NaNoWriMo and PiBoldMo.

You probably already know what NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) is all about: writing a 50,000-word novel in one month.  What you probably haven’t heard of is  PiBoldMo.

PiBoldMo is Picture Book Idea Month.  The goal is to come up with one picture book idea every day for the month of November. It sounds easy but I doubt it will be. There will be prizes like picture book critiques, artwork, jewelry and more.

I’m really excited for both challenges to start though I’m aware that I’ll have to really manage my time if I want to read and blog as much as I want to. That means I need to stay off of Farmville and any other games that I usually play, plus no more surfing the internet for interesting articles. That’s okay. I’m up for the challenge!

Book-Buying Ban

So lately I’ve bought a ton of great-looking books. These are books that I’ve read about on Twitter like The Heart of a Samurai by Margi Preus and The Lost Art of Reading by David L. Ulin while  a few are books I’ve wanted to reread like Francine Prose’s Reading Like a Writer. I’m excited about reading everything I’ve bought plus the books from my latest library loot, which I haven’t blogged about yet. So it leads me to impose a book-buying ban for myself. No more new books for myself until the beginning of the year. I’ll still check out books from the library but that’s it. I’m hoping to read everything I’ve bought this month by January 1, 2011.

My questions for you: Do you ever go on a book-buying ban? Are you planning on participating in any writing challenges in November?

27 thoughts on “Sunday Salon: NaNoWriMo, PiBoldMo, and book bans

  1. My only writing challenge in November is to continue to write my book- I’m not in NaNoWriMo formally though.
    As far book buying bans, I’ve tried it and always fail. Just, always fail. :-)

  2. I was on a book buying ban in October, sort of. I made exceptions for the two book festivals I went to, but that was it. I’ve found that bans don’t work well for me, but I’m thinking for the future I might put a limit on the number of new books that I can buy or maybe a dollar limit on how much I can spend on books each month. I have way more books I read than I’ll have time to finish, so I need to work out a system that can help limit the number I get while still keeping me from feeling deprived of books. It’s tricky!

    1. Kim, I definitely agree that it’s tricky finding a balance when it comes to books. I used to have a dollar limit every month but for some reason stopped. I’m thinking of trying a dollar limit a year. As long as I read what I buy, I don’t feel too guilty about what I buy.When I’m not reading what I’ve just bought, that’s when the guilt sinks in.

  3. Book bans are a bit of a joke for me. I do not even pretend to try. I would fail and the lack of new bookish loves would make me sad anyway. I smell new books when people are looking so how could this kind of discipline be good for me? :)

    Would love to dive into one of these writing challenges but time will not permit. Best of luck with your agendas!

  4. I completely fail at book blogging bans. =( I really need to go on one, but as soon as I do I just rebel!

    I did NaNaWriMo last year, but not this one – I have a few other things I need to spend time on, and I find I have less of a desire to do it now that I’ve done it once. PiBoIdMo sounds interesting! Good luck!

  5. I’ve tried a ban and a limit. The limit works better than the ban for me. I just wish my library had the books I wanted when I wanted them! I live near a great system but they’ve had some staff changes and I can tell the difference. They are still better than the closer system though. I think I will start to keep a visual list of books I want and if I check at library for a month and they don’t have it, I can buy it.

    I’m trying to do a blog posting challenge and a cleaning my house challenge this month…next month? Cooking every day!

  6. I like the idea of using November to challenge yourself in other ways than writing a novel. I did sign up for NaNoWrMo (hope that’s right). Again. Probably I will end up with the same results. Nothing. I just am not very disciplined at writing. I do not know why.

  7. I knew about NaNoWrMo but not about PiBoldMo. Sounds like you will be busy! I am trying to get back into the habit of writing every day so I can focus on poetry but it is hard, I’m not sure what is keeping me from it. As for a book buying ban I have been on one for a while but I managed to fall off the wagon in October. I am planning to write a post about it:) Have a great week!

  8. Good luck with your writing projects! I tried NaNo one time and it was hard :)

    I have gone on book buying bans but I’m usually not successful. Haha. Right now I’m on a library ban so I can get more of my books read.

  9. I have actually been thinking about instituting a book buying ban myself for a few months. It’s crazy the amount of books I buy, and I know that as long as I keep buying them, there are some that will never get read. Also, I am kind of driving my husband nuts with all the book purchases because we are running out of room to store them all. I will be interested in hearing how you do with this, as I am looking up to those who are doing this!

  10. I have done book buying bans before, and I really should do one right now – I’ve been on a bit of a binge lately, too! But, I haven’t bought Beautiful Darkness yet…. LOL

  11. Wow — you have two great writing challenges this month — I wish you tons of luck.

    I go on acquisition bans, but I usually fail….

  12. Um, picture book idea month? Um, who is this doing and why are they trying to get ideas from you and then not pay for them? It seems like that’s what they’re doing. If you have an idea, run with it! :)

    As for book buying bans, I’ve tried that, but doesn’t usually work. However, I don’t buy as often as others, maybe only once a month and only a couple of books, not 20 or 30 books at a time. Again :)

  13. I’ve imposed book buying bans on myself many times in the past. I’ve been fairly successful with them if I keep it to a short period of time (no more than a few months). As long as I can check books out from the library I am okay!

  14. I never heard of the PiBoIdMo, so I’m glad you caught me up on that one! I can picture you (almost) with your cup of coffee and your little breather, hope your day was everything you wanted it to be. As to book buying bans for myself? I need one as I’m running out of shelf room. Although, buying a Nook is solving some of that problem: easy storage there, even if it’s only slightly easier on the budget. ;)

  15. I really NEED to go on a book buying ban again :/ But no, I haven’t done that in awhile..it never works :p Good luck on yours though!!! And GOOD LUCK ON NaNo and PiBoIdMo!!!!

  16. I’m doing NaNo too. :) How’s it going for you so far? I’m already 2000 words behind but I don’t care. The point is that I’m writing fiction everyday, even if it is only 500 words daily.

    Good luck!

  17. I haven’t heard of PiBoldMo either! Good luck with both!! I’ll be cheering from the sidelines as I’m not a writer of any kind!

  18. I’ve never gone on a full-out book buying ban, (although looking at my TBR pile, I should), but I will tell myself things like “no brand new books this month” — all too often I find great deals on used books! Ironically, it’s the library that’s to blame for my TBR pile being so big — rather than putting out used (donated) books on a regular basis for sale, they have them on constant display!

    Speaking of the library, I borrowed “The Maeve Binchy Writers’ Club” from there. I haven’t started reading it yer, but one quote from the book that is on the back cover is “Writing is a bit like going on a diet: you should tell everyone or no one.”

    So, good luck :-) !

  19. I have never gone on a book buying ban– though I should. I really should until the first of the year because I have so many great books left to read that I won’t get to if I keep buying! Especially since my reading speed has slowed down quite a bit with school.

  20. I hope Nano is going well for you this year (and that you are staying off Farmville successfully, I can see that being an addictive internet game).

    As for book buying bans. I did one this year that lasted about three months, came off it and tried to do another one but that did not stick at all. I think 2011 (how is that so close by the way?) might have to be the year of ban as I’m running out of room.

  21. Go you with your challenges this month!!!

    As you know, I was on a book buying ban for a good 2 years…for me, an awesome library meant I didn’t really feel the sting of it. But I’ve never been a huge book collector, which makes it easier for me I think!

Comments are closed.