Review: And The Pursuit of Happiness by Maira Kalman

And The Pursuit of Happiness
Maira Kalman
480 pages
Publication Date: October 14, 2010
Publisher: Penguin Press

And the Pursuit of Happiness is Maira Kalman’s beautiful year-long exploration into democracy in America. Divided into months, the book starts out in the month of January with President Obama’s inauguration and ends in December with George Washington and the question of happiness and its pursuit. In-between, the author interviews Supreme Court Justice Ruth Ginsberg, falls in love with Abraham Lincoln, and watches a town hall meeting in Vermont. Kalman, being the wonderful artist that she is, has illustrated virtually every page in the book.

Isn’t that gorgeous? What I really like about this book is its spirit. Nowadays when you watch the news there’s so much pessimism and negativity when it comes to politics in this country. And the Pursuit of Happiness is so far from that. Kalman is optimistic about this country which is so refreshing.

Though the book is more than four hundred pages long, it can easily be read in one setting. Once you do finish it, you’ll want to go back and read it again. This is one of the best books I’ve read this year. Highly recommended.

17 thoughts on “Review: And The Pursuit of Happiness by Maira Kalman

  1. I have only heard a brief amount about this book, but so think that the topic and those illustrations are just wonderful! I probably wouldn’t have given this book much thought, but having read your glowing review of it, I think I need to read it!

  2. I’ve never even heard of this book. It looks beautiful and like you I could use a hint of optimism right now because I’m surrounded by pessimism. If you highly recommend it I know it has to be good!

  3. I love Maira Kalman. I was reading And the Pursuit of Happiness as she wrote it as a monthly column for (I think) the New York Times. She’s a gorgous writer and artist.

  4. I LOVE that you point out that this book is optimistic – you are so right that much of the news of the day presents everything in a negative light.

    I can’t believe I missed being a part of this tour myself as this sounds like exactly the kind of book I enjoy.

    Thanks for being a part of the tour!

  5. I’ve finally posted my review so I can come read yours. I just love Kalman and this is a book I’m going to be pushing.

Leave a Reply

