Review: Flight Volume 5

Flight Volume 5
Edited by Kazu Kibuishi
368 pages
Publication Year: 2008
Publisher: Villard, an imprint of  Random House
Source: Library

If you ask me pretty much every project that artist Kazu Kibuishi touches turns to gold. Kibuishi is the editor of the Flight series, an anthology of comics from artists around the world. One of the great things about the series is that the volumes are stand-alone and can be read in any order without the reader feeling like they’re missing something. So far there are seven volumes in the series.

I first started reading the series a few years ago and every volume has been pretty satisfying. Volume five is no exception. Just like the other volumes, there’s about twenty different stories each with a different contributor. The subject matter varies but each story is fantasy.

Artist Michel Gagné starts the series off once again with another tale about Rex, a small dog who has many adventures through space as he travels to different worlds and meet a variety of creatures. Tony Cliff is becoming a favorite artist of mine who has been featured in previous volumes before. His story “Delilah Dirk and the Aqueduct” has bits of steampunk and leaves readers satisfied once they reach the end of the story. I found Sarah Mensinga’s “The Changeling” to be one of the best stories in the volume. “The Changeling” is almost a modern-day fairy tale about an unmarried girl who is sent to an orphanage to give birth and give up her child. There’s such a difference in style and tone with each story, that  I wanted to show you  a few panels. This is the opening panel of “The Changeling”:

There’s a beauty to many of the stories in the series as a whole, that makes me wish I could hang up a few of the panels in my home.

“Voyage” by Kness and Made is a tale of an unexpected voyage that a polar bear takes around the world. I always need to stop and look closer at the panels to see every detail.

There were two or three stories in the book that I didn’t care for that I saw other reviewers loving. The thing I really like about volume five is that kids, tweens, teens, and even adults can read the book and enjoy it. Highly recommended.

12 thoughts on “Review: Flight Volume 5

  1. Thanks for this review. The image of the bear has me on the verge of tears (it’s been a tough week!). I’ve read Vol. 1 through 3 and have to remember to get the others out from the library.

  2. I always found this series intimidating because there were soooo many volumes, so I’m glad to hear that each one stands alone! I’ll see if I can get them from my library.

  3. Oh my! The artwork in this volume is just fantastic! I have not yet read any of these books, but this one is going to the top of my wish list after your wonderful review! Thanks so much for sharing it!!

  4. Those are lovely! I had heard about Flight from Mark David (Absorbed in Words) only recently and was surprised at the beauty of it. Am really glad you featured it because I’ve been very curious.. :) Have you read all the past issues?

Comments are closed.