September is. . .

Did you know that September is Library Card Sign-Up Month?

I signed up for my first library card when I was thirteen. Since then no matter where I’ve lived, I’ve always made getting my library card a priority. As a mother I’ve made signing up for a library card a special occasion. My kids and my sisters didn’t receive their first cards until they were able to write their names. It wasn’t a rule of the library but a rule I had, to help share my love of libraries and show my children how important these kinds of public institutions are.

I don’t know where I would be right now without books and libraries. I can’t imagine what my life would be like if I hadn’t devoured The Baby-Sitters Club series as a girl or the year I read every book in the Anne of Green Gables series. Who would I be if, as a child, I hadn’t been allowed to ignore life so I could sit and read as much as I wanted, whenever I wanted?

Here’s how special libraries are according to OCLC’s 2003 report, Libraries: How They Stack Up

  • U.S. libraries circulate over 1.9 billion items a year
  • One out of every six people worldwide is a registered library user
  • Between 2001-2002 there were more than 1.1 billion library visits

Isn’t that cool? As a blogger, the library has helped me get my hands on the latest books without me spending a dime. The library has also helped me indulge in my obsessions from cultures to religion, writing to education.

If you’re not a library user there are other ways of supporting libraries in your area such as becoming a Friend of the Library, donating your unwanted books that are in good condition, and even volunteering.

So are you a library user? Do you have a library card? Why or why not?

18 thoughts on “September is. . .

  1. I was a regular library user when I was a kid but when I got older I stopped and for years I didn’t even have a valid library card. About two years ago I decided to start up again and got myself a brand new library card. I hadn’t realized how much I missed libraries! There’s something special about the atmosphere, not to mention all those books just waiting to be read and that won’t drain my bank account!

  2. Technically I have TWO library cards: one for the Albuquerque public libraries, and one for my university’s libraries. Although the latter one is just my student ID card, lol. :D

  3. I know this is a weird thing to be proud of, but I’ve had the same library card since I first signed up and I have the number memorized – so I don’t even need to have the card with me to go to the library (I found quickly that I would forget it at home or go to the library when I wasn’t expecting it).

    Ahh, I absolutely adore libraries and without them, I know it would have been hard for me to read – we didn’t always have the funds for buying books. But free? Well, we could definitely afford that!

  4. I can’t remember NOT having a library card. I especially like my current one. It fits on my keychain so I always have it handy for when I need my number to access my online account or when checking out books.

  5. I didn’t start using the library regularly until about a year ago. I have no idea why I waited so long! Borrowing books has enabled me to read so much that I wouldn’t have otherwise had the opportunity to read.

  6. I love the library. I would live there if I could. The first thing I do when we consider moving to a new place is check out the library system there! (There have been a few places where I said, “Uh, NO!” to, because the libraries were so awful. No jokes.)

    I’ve had a library card ever since I was about 5 years old and I use it on a regular basis. These days, we usually hit the library on Saturdays- we’re moving out of the county, but my library card for that system (which is better than the county we’re moving to) is good til at least 2013, and my husband is right by the Main branch of that library every Saturday, so he just drops us off there (we’re getting use to doing this so it won’t be such a huge shock when we move, mostly because we get most of our homeschool books from the library; I now have to plan ahead and get everything we need for the week on Saturday! Can be tricky!)

    So yes, I love the library and can’t imagine life without it. :)

  7. I love my library card! I’ve had the same one since I was six years old. It’s quite brittle now and is missing one of the corners, but I wouldn’t trade it in for the world. Several years ago, a librarian offered to get me one of the new-style cards on thicker plastic, but I refused. I told him I was awfully attached to my original card. (Plus, I’ve had the number memorized since I was fifteen and began using the requests system).

    He looked at me like I was crazy, but he didn’t press the issue.

    I was really glad when I found someplace to live in Auckland, not just because I could stop worrying about putting a roof over my head but because I could get a library card. The Auckland Libraries gave me a choice of several different styles. I picked one with the Auckland skyline on it, and I use it all the time. Books are very, very expensive in New Zealand, so I’m grateful that the library allows me to read things for free. (Well, except when they charge me for adult-collection requests. I think that’s a bit dodgy). If it weren’t for the library, I couldn’t afford to read over here.

  8. Of course I’m a library user! I’m also a bookseller and a book owner many, many times over, but my life still needs to include the process of going and selecting books.

  9. We have a great system here in Orlando where the library actually delivers the books right to your door! I haven’t used it very much lately because I have so many of my own books to read, but it is super convenient!

  10. I had a library card when I was a kid and just adored it! I think I may need to get another one. Since I moved to Canada I haven’t gotten one. I do take all the books I’ve read to Friends of the Library though. Every few months I deposit a couple of boxes of books, and feel like I’m giving back a little :)

  11. Wow, I had no idea libraries circulate that many items. I wonder what percentage are actually books — I know many libraries (like ours) has lots of music CDs and movies on DVDs.

    I’ve been a member of a library for as long as I can remember — since I was about eight years old, perhaps. There was a brief period where I wasn’t a library member, and that was in West Chester, PA because the local branch was in downtown and parking was impossible. We lived there less than two years, anyway. I think they’ve since moved (finally wised up to the situation, I guess)!

  12. I love this post!

    Libraries are incredibly important to me. My mom is a Librarian, and I grew up in the stacks and shelves of libraries!

    I’m very fortunate to have access to two great Library systems – New York Public Library and the Hoboken Public Library (part of BCCLS).

    Libraries are such important parts of our communities – it’s completely awful that their funding is so often in jeopardy.

  13. Hahaha, Memory’s comment made me laugh because it’s exactly like me. The library has converted to a new, thicker, white (instead of blue) library card, and they keep trying to pressure me into swapping out my lovely library card that I’ve had forever. BUT I WILL NOT. I love my library card.

  14. I’ve had a library card for as long as I can remember. I have library cards right now for two different library systems in my community. I am huge supporter of the library and love to spend hours there whenever I can. I love owning books but I can check out and read so many more by using the “free” resources that the library offers.

Leave a Reply

