One Question for Author Lauren Baratz-Logsted

I first found the books of Lauren Baratz-Logsted last year when a fellow blogger sent me a copy of Crazy Beautiful, a book I read and loved. Yesterday was the publication date of Lauren’s newest book, The Education of Bet. Set in 19th-century England, it’s the story of a young girl who switches places with a male cousin so she can attend school, a role that’s denied to girls at that time.

To help Lauren celebrate her latest publication date, I joined her one-question tour which is still going strong around the blogisphere.

One of the things I love about most of my favorite books is the beautiful language. I love marking up a book with post-its, underlining passages, or dog-earring pages just so I can go back and reread the words that made me laugh, think, or cry. So my one question for Lauren is:

What is one of your favorite passages from a book or short story?

Lauren’s answer:

This is not an easy question – there are so many! But in honor of the 50th anniversary of Harper Lee’s To Kill a Mockingbird I’d have to say the part near the end where the narrator talks about the reclusive Boo Radley keeping a protective eye out for “his children” as the seasons change. The first time I read the book was 35 years ago and that time, and every time since, I’ve gotten choked up when I read that part. It’s been said that the highest form of charity is that which is done anonymously and to me that’s what Boo embodies: doing the right thing, not for praise or for public notice, but rather because it’s the right thing to do.

After reading Lauren’s great answer, I know I need to reread To Kill a Mockingbird. I do love the part that Lauren mentions.

Lauren’s next stop for her one-question tour will be over at Nomadreader where she’ll answer a question about her taste in books.

What’s one of your favorite literary passages? Why?

9 thoughts on “One Question for Author Lauren Baratz-Logsted

  1. Very cool post! I know that I also need to reread To Kill a Mockingbird, as most of the beauty of that book has faded into the recesses of my mind. I also think that Lauren’s book sounds excellent, so I will be looking out for it!

  2. Cool! A worthy choice for sure, and I love the one-question interview format. Haven’t read any of Lauren’s stuff yet, but give me time!

  3. Wow, I forgot about that part in To Kill a Mockingbird too. That definitely makes me want to reread the book.

  4. You haven’t read To Kill a Mockingbird? Natasha! You need to do that! It is so good!

    And I love this one question format. That is a fantastic idea!

  5. Great question and awesome answer- and you NEED to read TKAM! I think one of my favorite literary passages is in Jane Eyre when the chestnut tree is struck by lightning and splits. It’s just great how all of the emotion from the dialogue that takes place before it is total embodied through that one image.

  6. Holy cow, you must be kidding. I couldn’t possibly just pick a favorite passage but for today, I’ll say the last quote from The Maytrees I shared in my recent review — about the pinata. I love that.

Leave a Reply

