It’s Monday! What are you reading?

Books I read last week:

  1. Bone vol. 1: Out of Boneville by Jeff Smith
  2. The Truth About Delilah Blue by Tish Cohen
  3. Ghost World by Daniel Clowes
  4. The Great Lover by Jill Dawson
  5. Arthur’s Underwear by Marc Brown
  6. Baba Yaga the Flying Witch by Susanna Davidson

Books already read this week:

  1. Bone Vol. 2 : The Great Cow Race by Jeff Smith
  2. The Lunch Lady and the Author Visit Vendetta by Jarrett Krosoczka

Currently reading

  1. The Best American Comics 2010 edited by Neil Gaiman
  2. Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott

Up next:

  1. The Quickening by Michelle Hoover
  2. Bone vols. 3-6 by Jeff Smith
  3. Where are we going, Daddy? by Jean-Louis Fournier
  4. The Lost Daughter by Elena Ferrante
  5. Translation is a Love Affair by Jacques Poulin
  6. Briefs by John Edgar Wideman

With most of these books being less than 200 pages, I think I can get through most of them with no problem this week. Have you read any of the books on this week’s list? Any recommendations?

18 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. I’ve never read the Ghost World graphic novel although I’ve seen the movie a couple of times, and I haven’t read any others on the list either. I just looked up Translation is a Love Affair though and now it’s going on my wishlist.

  2. I think I need to get my hands on The Quickening. You had a super reading week! I am going to have to pop in later to check out your reviews :)

  3. I’m juggling four books right now and they all happen to be for challenges. Good thing as I was starting to fall behind :)

    I haven’t read any of your upcoming books. Hope you enjoy them!

  4. I’d like to know what you thought of Ghost World. I love the movie but have never gotten around to reading the graphic novel.

  5. Trying to get around to Bird by Bird myself. Seems so appealing to me from that point of inspiration in “take it bird by bird” to her own experience based advice. I wonder how much I have read in bits and pieces? :)

  6. I’m juggling too many books right now! Reading Venetia Kelly’s Traveling Show; Truly, Madly; and Dracula in Love in print. Listening to A Plague of Doves and Raiders’ Ransom on audio. Nothing like a wealth of riches, right?

  7. I LOVE your book selection! I’m really getting interested in graphic novels and comics more recently. They just seem to be getting better and better. I can’t wait to see how The Best American Comics 2010 turns out!

    Have a fabulous reading week and thanks for stopping by my site! :)

  8. Ooh ooh! So many good books to respond to! Where do I start?

    1. How did you like the Bone books so far? I have the first installment but haven’t read it yet.

    2. I LOOOOVE Ghost World–book and film adaptation. I taught it in college and my university classes really liked it once they got over the “what is this?” thing.

    3. How is Bird by Bird going? On the one hand, I think she’s very insightful. On the other hand, she’s often too touchy-feely for me. I had to use this one when I was teaching composition at the university, and the students generally HATED it.

    4. I have The Best American Comics 2010 to review (NetGalley), and I can’t wait to get to it.

    Whew! OK, I think that’s it for now. Sorry to have typed your proverbial ear off. ;)

  9. My son used to be a huge BONE fan, until he moved on to something else. He’s got a huge, thick volume of the complete BONE. I really need to read it as I’ve heard so many good things about it and I am trying to read more graphic novel stuff.

Comments are closed.