Review: The Magickeepers Book Two: The Pyramid of Souls

Magickeepers: Book 2: The Pyramid of Souls
Erica Kirov
162 pages
Publication Date: May 1, 2010
Publisher: Sourcebooks
Source: Publisher

I think I enjoyed The Pyramid of Souls even more than I did The Eternal Hourglass, which is the first book in Erica Kirov’s Magickeepers series. Like all first books in a series, The Eternal Hourglass had to set up the world in which the main character, thirteen-year old Nick Rostov, lives in.

In The Pyramid of Souls, Nick is enjoying his new life with his Russian relatives. He’s getting the hang of his magical abilities, eating Russian food (but not caviar!), and being around his controlling cousin Damian.  When another magical relic is stolen along with his cousin Sascha, Nick has to use every trick he’s learned to help bring back his cousin from the evil Rasputin.

Just like the first book in the series, The Pyramid of Souls had me asking a few questions. In book two, the magical relic is a pyramid that can trap souls and keep them there indefinitely. One of the most famous people to have it was Edgar Allan Poe. The book did a great job setting up the story of how the author received the relic but readers are never told how it was stolen from him.

As usual Kirov does a wonderful job of keeping readers interested and the pages turning. A great read for younger kids.

4 thoughts on “Review: The Magickeepers Book Two: The Pyramid of Souls

  1. These books would probably make great reads for my kids as well. I will be looking for them, and thanks for sharing this review!

  2. I wasn’t taken enough with book 1 to go on to book 2 — but I think that’s because these are middle reader books, which is a bit too young for me.

Comments are closed.