Read-a-thon Mid-Event Challenge

Mid-Event Survey:

1. What are you reading right now? Tofu Quilt by Ching Yeung Russell
2. How many books have you read so far? I’ve read 4-ish books so far:
The First Part Last by Angela Johnson
Black is for Beginnings by Laure Faria Stolarz
The Good Neighbors book 1: Kin by Holly Black
The Good Neighbors book 2: Kith by Holly Black
still reading The Housekeeper and The Professor by Yoko Ogawa
3. What book are you most looking forward to for the second half of the Read-a-thon? I don’t know. I have a lot of great books in my read-a-thon pile. Maybe The Absolutely True Story of a Part-time Indian by Sherman Alexie or Falling In by Frances O’Roark Dowell.

4. Did you have to make any special arrangements to free up your whole day? No, just included the kids in my read-a-thon plans.
5. Have you had many interruptions? How did you deal with those? Having kids there are bound to be interruptions. I just dealt with them and went back to reading. I think the trick is not to put too much pressure on myself.
6. What surprises you most about the Read-a-thon, so far? Nothing so far. I know with every read-a-thon I’m going to meet and make new blogging friends.
7. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? Nope. It’s pretty perfect.
8. What would you do differently, as a Reader or a Cheerleader, if you were to do this again next year? I was both  a reader and a cheerleader, and there’s nothing I would do differently.
9. Are you getting tired yet? I did get tired the last hour, so I stopped reading to cheer people on and also clean up around the house.
10. Do you have any tips for other Readers or Cheerleaders, something you think is working well for you that others may not have discovered? One of the tips I can’t give to people enough is to relax, have fun, and remember to read short books.
24 thoughts on “Read-a-thon Mid-Event Challenge

  1. WOO HOO!! I loved The Housekeeper and The Professor by Yoko Ogawa and I really enjoyed the experience of TATSofPTI by Alexie. Congrats on your ‘thon so far – you’re doing AMAZING.
    CHEERS!

  2. Woohoo! Halfway!

    PS – I don’t think I’ve been to your actual site (only reading through GR) since you’ve had this theme. Looks great.

  3. Read the best books first,
    or you may not have a chance to read them at all.
    ~ Henry David Thoreau ~

    Um, I’m thinking that short books are the ticket. That, or spending the day in a hotel room somewhere! At least my walk with our dog fit one of the mini challenges: to get up and move. I’ve been doing more of that than reading!

  4. I like books
    I really do.
    Books with stories
    And pictures, too. (Author unknown)

    Hope you’re enjoying everyone you meet and everywhere you go in your reading today. I agree that having fun is the main point.

  5. I’m impressed with your four-ish books! If I hadn’t spent the last few hours reading manga, I’d have finished one-ish books. You win. :)

  6. I looooved the Sherman Alexie book–so much, in fact, I’ve been hunting down all his other work. I hope you like it!

  7. I saw from Twitter that you’re starting the Absolutely True Diary of a part-Time Indian. Yes! That book was awesome. Hilarious :) I think funny books totally help the read-a-thon fly by, especially when you’re really tired.

    Go reader go! (i never officially signed up to be a cheerleader so I’m just posting random things that I hope sound encouraging. lol). I admire you for doing the read-a-thon while working around your kids. I would probably give up. Keep going!

  8. Don’t let those eyes droop
    head out on the stoop
    get some fresh air
    before heading back to that chair
    pick up your book
    take another look
    read, read, read

  9. You’re doing great! Way to go! :)
    I’ll be interested to hear what you think of The Housekeeper and the Professor when you get back to it. Hang in there, not much longer now!

  10. Wonderful job on the Read-a-Thon! I’ll be looking forward to reading with you on October. Keep on rocking and reading, read-a-thoner! It’s been lots of fun! :D

Comments are closed.