Saturday read-a-thon

My reading this year has been dismal. I read one adult book in January and three more (I think) this month so far. I have a ton of  lovely books that I really want to read but haven’t been able to. So today Megan from Posey Sessions and I are doing a mini-read-a-thon this weekend. The goal isn’t to read as much as possible, but to dedicate more time to  reading.

Here’s what I plan on reading:

Lips Touch Three Times by Laini Taylor. I’ve read this before and just want to re-read the first short story in the collection, “Goblin Fruit”.

Notes from No Man’s Land: American Essays by Eula Biss.

An Altar in the World: A Geography of Faith by Barbara Taylor Brown

Ebony Rising: Short Fiction of the Greater Harlem Renaissance edited by Craig Gable. I want to read at least 10 more short stories before I post my review on Monday.

So I’m off to read. I might post updates throughout the day. We’ll see. What books are you looking forward to read this weekend?

19 thoughts on “Saturday read-a-thon

  1. I go through reading funks too, so I’m sure you’ll make up for your slow start. I’m reading something ‘light’ right now — DEEP STORM — which is easy enough that I’m going to tear through it. I find a fast thriller usually jogs me out of a reading funk.

    Enjoy your reading!

  2. Have fun! It sounds like a great idea, and one I need to do myself. I am looking to write three reviews and get a good way through my book for The Classics Circuit March tour. Hopefully, Georgette Heyer is any easy read.

  3. Such a great idea! My husband is away next weekend, perhaps I will schedule my own read-athon.

    I hope you read lots and I look forward to all those revies.

  4. Good luck to ya! I’ve been trying to set aside more reading time the last few days and I keep falling asleep. Hmmphf. I really want to get my hands on Lips Touch! Thanks for the reminder.

  5. Seems to me I saw you read a bunch of tweets… how many books did you read? *wink* I finished Typhoid Mary and started Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie. But hub and I are just starting to watch The Hurt Locker so it might be Movie-Sunday.

  6. I want all of those books, pretty much. Lips Touch Three Times is on my card since that day we talked about it, but I haven’t placed the order yet because something has to go and I can’t decide what. Sigh :P

  7. Man, my reading has been abismal this year, so far, too. My work life is taking over every other aspect of my being. It stinks! Looks like you have some good stuff on the horizon, though. Enjoy!

  8. An Altar in The World looks good! I’m looking forward to your thoughts on it, and quite envious of your mini readathon. I hope I can hold one myself this weekend. (Bellezza, party of one. ;)

Leave a Reply

