It’s Monday! What are you reading?

Today has been a busy day for me. Happily I’m finally able to sit down and write this post. With next week the start of the new semester, I’m trying to fit in as much reading as possible. I’m not doing a read-a-thon or anything like that, but I’m taking advantage of my last week of freedom. Here’s what I’m hoping to finish this week:

  1. Waiting for Columbus by Thomas Trofimuk. Rebecca at The Book Lady’s Blog has been recommending this book ever since she read it last year. After a conversation on Twitter with her and Jill from Fizzy Thoughts and Heather from Capricious Reader, I’ve decided to drop everything and read the book now.
  2. The Little Stranger by Sarah Waters. I’m reading this because of next week’s That’s How I Blog show hosted by Nicole over at Linus’s Blanket. Nicole is interviewing Rebecca who picked Waters for the 20-minute book discussion.
  3. Reading Like a Writer by Francine Prose. After mentioning this book in last week’s post I started re-reading it again.
  4. Roman Fever and Other Stories by Edith Wharton. For the Edith Wharton Classics Circuit which started today. I’m posting a review of  the book at the end of the month.
  5. The Sea Birds Are Still Alive by Toni Cade Bambara. After reading Bambara’s short story, “Medley”, for the first time a few months ago I had to go out and buy Bambara’s out-of print collection of short stories.

I’m hoping that I get all of this read by Sunday. Wish me luck. What books are you planning to read this week?

16 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. Good luck with all your reading! (And with the new term at school!) I think I’ll be spending the whole week with DRAGONFLY IN AMBER by Diana Gabaldon. It’s very good, but it’s also very large and my work is insane right now. Too much overtime. :(

  2. These all look wonderful! I have Waiting for Columbus and The Little Stranger on hold at the library. Right now I’m reading Wolf Hall, The Unit, Moby Dick and a book on birds.

  3. I can’t wait to read Waiting for Colimbus– I hope it’s as good as everyone keeps saying it is.

  4. I can’t wait to read The Little Stranger and hope to get to by the end of the month. I have a couple of ARCS that need to be read,but other than that I am free to concentrate on my challenges.

  5. I’m coveting your reading this week! My library FINALLY ordered Waiting for Columbus, and I can’t wait until it comes in for me. I’m determined to read The Little Stranger in the coming months too. Happy reading!

  6. I’m still getting to The Little Stranger and am not sure what is taking me so long because I really, really want to read it. Maybe there are just too many books that I really, really want to read. Sounds like a great week in front of you. Happy reading!

  7. I can’t believe it is already the 6th and I’m slowly easing back into the life of a ‘reader’. I did this last January, too. Too much thinking-swirling in my head, I guess. Anyway, just stopping by to say hello. :)

  8. Hi, I have read Sarah Waters ‘Little stranger’ and reviewed it. I hope you enjoy it As much as I did! I’ll check back to read your review!
    Kind Regards
    Lynda

Comments are closed.