Thankfully Reading Weekend starts

Today is the official start of the Thankfully Reading Weekend. I started my reading yesterday with a collection of short stories, Love Stories in This Town by Amanda Eyre Ward. Between cooking yesterday and spending time with the family, I also started The Mercy Papers: A Memoir of Three Weeks by Robin Romm. Romm chronicles the three weeks leading up to her mother’s death from cancer. It’s a sad but engaging read. The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck is another book that was started a few days ago. It was Dewey’s favorite books of all time. Steinbeck is one of my favorite authors so I’m reading it to honor her memory.

I have a ton of books on my shelves that I would love to read this weekend like Liar by Justin Larbalestier and Flygirl by Sherri L. Smith. I’m hoping to finish at least three or four books this weekend.

What are you reading this weekend? Are you participating in Thankfully Reading Weekend?

24 thoughts on “Thankfully Reading Weekend starts

  1. How I wish the UK had a bank holiday weekend at the end of the year, Thanksgiving seems to come just when you need it. Have a great time reading and I’ll be looking forward to hearing what you think of Flygirl.

  2. Your three books look very good. I haven’t read Grapes Of Wrath since high school. I may have to read it again sometime. I am participating too. It’s a good weekend to relax and read. Happy Reading!

  3. Grapes of Wrath is one of my favorites. I’m not participating in the challenge since I’ve sworn off challenges but I will definitely be reading this weekend! Enjoy your books!

  4. I read a book by Amanda Eyre Ward awhile ago and really enjoyed it. I keep meaning to read more by her. Looks like you are off to a good start! I am participating in the Thankfully Reading Weekend event too. I am about to settle in with my book. It’s a historical mystery set in the late 16th century. I’m about half way through now so hope to finish it today. Enjoy your reading!

  5. I wish we got to celebrate Thanksgiving in England too. It would give me more time to Christmas shop. I hope you get to read all the books you want this weekend.

  6. I am embarassed to say that despite having been an english major I haven’t read a lot of Steinbeck. But I hope to remedy that this coming year. It’s very sweet of you to read The Grapes of Wrath in Dewey’s honor. The Mercy Papers sounds very sad but I’m sure it’s also quite good. Enjoy your reading!

  7. I haven’t read Grapes of Wrath in years. I should add it to my list. I love John Steinbeck too especially Winter of Our Discontent and Of Mice and Men. I haven’t read your other choices so I’ll be back to see your reviews.

  8. You’ve got great books on tap! I was hoping to do more reading as part of thi event but have only been able to get through 1/2 of Beautiful Creatures (which is excellent by the way). The bet intentions and all that! Can’t wait to see where you came out in the end.

  9. I won’t be participating sadly, since I have so much studying to do, but I hope you’re having fun with your reading! Liar was very interesting, can’t wait to see what you think of it!

  10. I’d love to participate in another read-a-thon of sorts, but Thanksgiving vacation has escaped me…there were too many family events going on; today my cousin had their fifth child! So, if I was reading I would definitely be finishing The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle by Murakami, as well as starting some books I’ve committed to review in December. When She Flew is one of them. I wish I could stay home tomorrow and just read, read, read.

  11. I’m doing Thankfully Reading this weekend, too. Hope you got a lot of reading done! I was asking around to see if there was a memoir-related reading challenge and a few folks mentioned In Their Shoes. Just was wondering if you were thinking of hosting again … it looked like a fun and interesting challenge.

Comments are closed.