Sunday Salon: Books, books, books

sunday salon

Good morning. Right now it’s early morning and the sun is starting to rise. It’s pretty quiet over here with only a few of the kids up. The only sounds that can be heard are the keyboard as I type, the heater, and my coffee pot. The second my coffee’s ready, I plan on sitting at the kitchen table reading Twyla Tharp’s The Creative Habit: Learn it and Use it For Life. In the book, Tharp explains how creativity is really a habit that you have to foster. She also includes great ways to become more creative and exercises to get you going at the end of every chapter. I’m halfway through it and it’s a book I would recommend to anyone doing NaNoWriMo.

I’m also in the middle of a graphic novel, a memoir, a collection of essays, and some fiction. I have my hands full. Which is why Marie from The Boston Bibliophile and I are planning on doing a 12-hour mini-readathon this Wednesday. The plan is to read as many of our short paperbacks as possible. I have a ton of unread books on my shelf that have been sitting around for years. I hope to knock out as least five books since so many of them are less than 200 pages long.

My coffee’s ready and so I’m off to read. Have a great Sunday. What are you reading today?

17 thoughts on “Sunday Salon: Books, books, books

  1. I am also enjoying my coffee right now. The kids are fed and the birds are chirping away and my backyard looks glorious. However, I have a full day of homework ahead. My kids have so much that it takes half a Sunday to get through it. If we finish in good time, then perhaps we’ll hit the bookstore.

    I just finished Saving Sammy which was surprisingly good. I am now reading New Moon, I know, don’t groan! I am seeing the movie with a gal pal when it comes out and I want to read the book before I go.

    I am also reading a collection of stories titled Forgetting English.

  2. You can read 5 books in 12 hours?? I think I need to set aside longer periods of time to read. That will help me catch up on those books I’ve had on my pile since January!!

  3. I have that Tharp book, and it is wonderful! I’ve seen time and again people who write or who are in publishing say it’s the habit, the working, that matters, even more than the talent. What good is talent that does nothing?

    Good luck on your mini readathon! Today I am working on my NaNoWriMo project, but I am sure I’ll read a bit–ZZ Packer’s Drinking Coffee Elsewhere.

  4. Haha, that’s funny! I’m doing my own read-a-thon too this week, although on Thursday. I wish I could have joined you! But I’ll try to come back and cheer you both on that day!

  5. Good luck with your mini read-a-thon next week! I’m sure you’ll knock quite a few titles off your TBR.

    I’m reading a science fiction novel called ALIEN EARTH today. It’s by Megan Lindholm, who also writes as Robin Hobb. She’s one of my favourite authors, so I’ve got a good feeling about this one.

  6. What a great idea to have a mini-read-a-thon! One thing the 24-hour read-a-thon did for me was to remind me how much I love just sitting and reading for hours at a time, something I’ve gotten out of the habit of doing because I spend so much time online. I plan to have my own read-a-thon after NaNoWriMo is over.

    I am in the middle of five books right now – no, six! I’m reading The House of Mirth by Wharton, Wives and Daughters by Gaskell, Beside a Burning Sea by John Shors, The Invention of Everything Else by Samantha Hunt, and A Killing Frost by John Marsden. Oh, and I am still dipping in and out of Best American Nonrequired Reading 2008 – the last two short stories were excellent.

    But, I won’t have much time for reading today – I didn’t do any writing yesterday, so I’ve got to NaNo my brains out this afternoon!

  7. Good luck on your readathon this week. Hope you get the chance to work through loads of the books you’re wanting to read. :)

    I’ve actually got to pick a new book to start. I may have to do a review copy that I know I have sitting on my shelf. I’ve been lucky the past couple of weeks I’ve made an effort to read more from my TBR.

  8. It sounds like you are doing lots of reading! The Tharp book sounds wonderful, I’m putting it on hold at the library. Have a good week.

  9. I love the idea of your mini read-a-thon! They are definitely a great way to get rid of the smaller books on your pile. It’s not Sunday any more but I’m still reading the same two books – Daisy, the Life and Loves of the Countess of Warwick and Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel.

  10. That book about creativity sounds really interesting. I think I really need to do more creative things in my life–right now my only creative outlet is blogging.

Comments are closed.