Library Loot

0

Twenty Years at Hull House by Jane Adams
Geektastic: Stories from the Nerd Herd by Holly Black and Cecil Castellucci
The Onion Girl by Charles de Lint

 

1

Distracted: the erosion of attention and the coming Dark Age by Maggie Jackson
Pip: The Story of Olive by Kim Kane
Love, Aubrey by Suzanne LaFleur

 

2

Once Upon A Time (She Said) by Jane Yolen
The Wild Things by Dave Eggers
Flight Vol 5 by Kazu Kibuishi

Old Loot

Sprout by Dale Peck
The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan
The Lone Ranger and Tonto fistfight in Heaven by Sherman Alexie
The Strain by Guillermo del Toro
The Arrival by Shaun Tan
Life Among the Savages by Shirley Jackson
The Magician’s Elephant by Kate DiCamillo
The Last Unicorn by Peter S. Beagle

Okay. So that’s my library loot for this week. What have you check out from the library lately?

18 thoughts on “Library Loot

  1. I hope you enjoy Geektastic!

    I’ll be interested to hear your thoughts on Audrey, Wait. I’ve seen some reviews on it already and waffle on whether I’d like it. It seems a bit darker.

  2. Awful to admit, but I’ve not had much time to browse the public library the last few months :( Feeling the withdrawal symptoms though lol!

    Distracted looks really interesting, I read an article about how this generation of learners is needing to build a different sort of inner focus ability because of how fast and busy the world around them is. But that they are much more able to multi-task than generations before them. Just the kind of geeky reading I love :)

  3. somanybookssolittletime. sigh. I just reserved a few books but didn’t get any this week. I’m thinking about checking out some cookbooks, tho. I’m in the mood to peruse a few recipes for fun…

  4. I am coveting your loot. What a great list of things to read! Especially curious to see what you think of Flight Vol. 5 — I have read Vol. 2 and loved many of the stories in it.

  5. Michelle: Thanks!

    Joanne: You’re right, Distracted seems to be the right kind of geeky reading.I can’t wait to read it.

    Vivienne: This would be my first de Lint read. I’ve read so many good things about The Onion Girl, I decided to give it a try.

    Bermudaonion: LOL! I love the cover of Pip: The Story of Olive so I picked it up.We’ll see how good it is.

    Care: You know what? Last night I was thinking about checking out some cookbooks too. I probably will since Thanksgiving is just around the corner.Let me know what you check out.

    Kiirstin: I love the Flight series. I’ll write a review of it when I finish reading it. Have you read volume 1? I really enjoyed that one.

    Sherrie: Thanks! Have a great day!

  6. Wow that looks like an awesome haul. Geektastic and The Onion Girl are already on my TBR list, and now I have to go add Twenty Years at Hull House and Flight! Happy reading!

  7. I read Twenty Years at Hull House in high school and loved it! :) And I’m on my library’s list for The Wild Things. I flipped through some of the Flight volumes at B&N earlier this year and was really intrigued-maybe I’ll put on hold at my libary!

  8. I am interested to see what you think about The Onion Girl. It was my first de Lint and I’m still not sure how I feel about it. :)

  9. I loved Geektastic! (Well, except one story :P ) I also share She’s reservations about The Onion Girl…I guess it just wasn’t the best starting place. Happy reading!

  10. I have only read one Jane Yolen book but I liked it a lot! Must look into getting more! I have read a few Charles de Lint books. I don’t find them easy reads but I do enjoy them!

    Hope you enjoy your loot!

Leave a Reply

