Daily Archives: October 25, 2009

Read-a-thon Wrap-up Post

24readathon

1. Which hour was most daunting for you? About hour16. One of my sons wasn’t feeling well and wanted me to lie down with him. I knew if I did, I would probably go to sleep and I did. Luckily I woke up a few hours later and read some more.

2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? The Fables series by Bill Willingham (graphic novels), Driving Miss Daisy by Alfred Uhry (play), anything by Shaun Tan, Black Swan, White Raven edited by Ellen Datlow and Terri Windling (short stories). There’s a lot of books I can recommend so I’ll write a post before the next read-a-thon.

3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the read-a-thon next year? None.

4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s read-a-thon? Twitter. By using Twitter we had so many people sign up and it was also an easier to cheer people on.

5. How many books did you read? 8

6. What were the names of the books you read?

  • Angels in America by Tony Kushner
  • The Professor’s Daughter by Joann Sfar
  • Amulet 1: The Stonekeeper by Kazu Kubuishi
  • Amulet 2: The Stonekeeper’s Curse by Kazu Kubuishi
  • Imogene’s Antlers by David Small
  • Sleeping Ugly by Jane Yolen
  • Duck! Rabbit! by Amy Krouse Rosenthal
  • Rapunzel’s Revenge by Shannon and DeanHale

7. Which book did you enjoy most? I loved them all.

8. Which did you enjoy the least? None

9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders? Don’t feel overwhelm. I learned with this read-a-thon that though it’s possible to reach a lot of blogs, you won’t be able to make it to each one unless you’re only cheering.

10. How likely are you to participate in the read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? I’m definitely participating in next year’s read-a-thon. I’ll probably just read next time instead of reading and cheering.

Big thanks to Wordlily, Nymeth, Trish, and Eva for hosting!