Monday Memes

Musing Mondays (BIG)Today’s MUSING MONDAYS post is about the read-a-thon…

Are you planning on participating in the upcoming 24 Hour Read-a-thon (either as a reader or cheerleader)? Have you made any preparations for the event? And, veterans out there, any tips you’d like to share with the newbies?

I am definitely planning on participating in the read-a-thon. As usual I’m reading and cheerleading so things will be a little hectic for me on Saturday. I’ve already started making preparations by getting my read-a-thon stack ready. I have a few books still on their way but I cannot wait!

My tips for newbies:

  1. Make sure the books in your pile are light and fun to read.
  2. Graphic novels, short story collections, young adult reads, children’s fiction, plays, and even poetry are great additions to any read-a-thon stack.
  3. Make sure you have healthy snacks ready. You’ll hate to be running around on Saturday trying to fix a meal.
  4. Naps are your friend. Don’t feel guilty taking one. I plan on taking several.
  5. Clean your house, do the laundry, and any other household needs BEFORE Saturday.
  6. You don’t have to read or cheer for 24 hours. Do it for as long as you want. When you no longer want to, take a break. Don’t feel like going back, stop. The readathon is supposed to be fun.

It’s Monday, What are you Reading?

Last week I read:

  1. Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins
  2. Sea Change by Aimee Freedman

Right now I’m in the middle of:

  1. August: Osage County by Tracy Letts

This week I plan to read:

  1. The Transfigured Hart by Jane Yolen
  2. Love That Dog by Sharon Creech
  3. B.P.R.D. #2: The Soul of Venice and Other Stories by Mike Mignola
  4. The Arrival  by Shaun Tan
7 thoughts on “Monday Memes

  1. This is just the challenge I need to get me to read/sort through another batch of books. I am trying to get down from 450 books TBR to less than 100 over the next couple of years and I’ve set myself mini-milestones to monitor my progress, the next one is on the 27th. :)

  2. Hiya just dropping by from twitter. I have the complete Moomins comic collection as part of my read-a-thon stack, looking forward to that as a late night read. See you during read-a-thon, who will read the most of ‘The Woman In White’! I won’t be foolish enough to say I will race you :)

Leave a Reply

