Booking Through Thursday: Weeding

btt button

We’re moving in a couple weeks (the first time since I was 9 years old), and I’ve been going through my library of 3000+ books, choosing the books that I could bear to part with and NOT have to pack to move. Which made me wonder…

When’s the last time you weeded out your library? Do you regularly keep it pared down to your reading essentials? Or does it blossom into something out of control the minute you turn your back, like a garden after a Spring rain?

Or do you simply not get rid of books? At all? (This would have described me for most of my life, by the way.)

And–when you DO weed out books from your collection (assuming that you do) …what do you do with them? Throw them away (gasp)? Donate them to a charity or used bookstore?  SELL them to a used bookstore? Trade them on Paperback Book Swap or some other exchange program?

My Library

I’m almost constantly trying to par down my personal library. Just last night I was trying to figure out which books should get donated to the library. My personal library isn’t large, just under 400 books but I live in a small apartment so every inch of space counts. My bookshelves contains many books I haven’t read (of course) but also books I’ve read over and over again. I’m constantly going to thrift stores and adding new books to my shelves so I try to be selective in my buying that way I don’t have books overflowing.

When I do weed out books, I’m usually getting rid of books that have sat on my shelves for years without being read. I love my public library system, LBPL, so I’m constantly donating my books to them.  Their funding has been cut so now they have wishlists on Amazon for the first time ever. Now more than ever I feel the need to help them.  Books I know my library doesn’t need, I donate to my local thrift stores whose purpose is to help veterans. I also trade my books on Paperback Swap though I’m more likely to buy credits than post books.

Do you weed out books on your shelves? If so, do you have a system?

10 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday: Weeding

  1. You sound super organised, and your library must be your number one fan. It’s fantastic that you are benefitting good causes. Having tight restraints on your personal library must be so hard but, constantly paring down your collection, I bet your books are the creme de la creme!

  2. I get rid of the ones that I absolutely don’t like, the ones that I rate as “Toss” in reviews. I tend to keep books that are of literary artistry.

  3. I haven’t weeded out my shelves in the longest time, although I have been thinking about it a bit lately. When I do get rid of books, I usually just donate them to the library.

  4. The Literary Omnivore: Thanks! I just try to help them any way that I can.

    Gautami: I didn’t think of that! There’s a nursing home down the street from me. I’ll see if they need any books. Thanks!

    Sarah: I try to only possess books I’m excited about reading. Though I may not be able to read them right away, they’re here just waiting for me.

    JoAnn: I was so surprised when my library made the announcement that they have a wish list. Hopefully patrons of the system are donating needed books.

    Matthew: If I don’t think I’m going to re-read a book, it gets tossed. If a book has won a literary award, I’ll often add it to my shelves.

    Bermudaonion: LOL! If it wasn’t for space, I’ll own a lot more books.

    Heidenkind: My library is usually the first stop I make when I’m donating. I feel like I should repay them back since I’m always there checking materials out.

    Pussreboots: I think we just don’t read fast enough.

    Novelinsights: Thanks! I’m just trying to do my part.

Comments are closed.