What My Children Are Reading – July 16th

This is a meme started by Jill over at Well-Read Child. For some reason this week has been really laid back. I don’t think any of us over here has read as much as we wanted to except for my youngest Oli. Oli’s asthma has been acting up again, so he’s spent most of the week at home with me. Here are a few books the kids and I have been reading this week.

01

My Mom Is Trying to Ruin My Life (2009). Written by Kate Feiffer. Illustrated by Diane Goode. The girls in my house love this book and I have to admit I do too. The main character, a little girl, swears her mother is trying to ruin her life by doing a number of embarrassing things like giving her a kiss in public and talking too loud. The main character then thinks of a plan to get rid of both of her parents. The ending is such a nice lesson for kids about how great our parents can be.

Gone with the Wand by Margie Palatini (2009). Written by Margie Palatini. Illustrated by Brain Ajhar. After Bernice, a fairy godmother, loses her magical powers, her best friend Edith the tooth fairy comes to the rescue. What ensues is a hilarious journey to help Bernice get her powers back. The first time I read this I laughed so hard, I had to stop reading for a second.

.

02

Dog’s ABC: A Silly Story about the Alphabet (2000) by Emma Dodd
Dog’s Colorful Day: A Messy Story about Colors and Counting (2000) by Emma Dodd
Dog’s Noisy Day: A Story to Read Aloud (2002)by Emma Dodd

The Dog series by Emma Dodd is the series right now in our family. All the kids, ages 4-9, have read and re-read these three books. In Dog’s ABC, Dog goes through his neighborhood noticing the different creatures. It’s a great ABC book and my family loved the illustrations by Dodd. Dog’s Colorful Day is a story about colors and counting that’s easy and fun for kids to learn. Dog goes through his neighborhood getting dirty by adding a new color spot with each adventure he has.  Then Dog takes a tour of a farm in Dog’s Noisy Day, listening to all the sounds that different creatures make. My youngest enjoyed making the sounds along with each creature.

03

Frogs (2008) by Nic Bishop. The title is pretty self-explanatory. This book is all about frogs, telling readers how they reproduce, live, and the different species. I just this as a read aloud for the older kids and though most aren’t into reading about animals, they really enjoyed reading the book and looking at the great photos that the author took.

Chicken Soup with Rice: A Book of Months (1996) by Maurice Sendak. Oli has read this book several times a day this week. A little boy loves chicken soup with rice so much that every month he does something different with it. Told in rhyme, readesr will love seeing what happens with every month.

What books are you and your children reading together this week?

10 thoughts on “What My Children Are Reading – July 16th

  1. My pre-k students loved reading Dog’s Colorful Day. It was an easy book to memorize and they read it so much on their own in the Book Center that I can’t tell you the number of times I had to tape the pages back into the book because it was worn out. I imagine the other two Dog books are just as fun.

  2. This is a great idea for a meme. My younger boys are into The Stories Julian Tells by Ann Cameron this week. We have 2 Julian books and The Stories Huey Tells. We are going to the library today to look for more of them. I think Cameron has written a bunch. They are great!

  3. This is a great idea! I’ll have to get m act together on this one. We are currently reading (and rereading and rereading…) Stella Luna and Mike Mulligan and Mary Anne.

  4. There are so many great books for children to choose from now. I don’t understand how anyone could grow up without having a love of reading instilled. I love Gone with the Wand and for a canine lover like me the three dog books look fabulous!

  5. Those Dog books are awesome! My kids are too old for them, but Emma Dodd is one of the authors I always look to when buying gifts for friends/relatives’ little ones.
    Right now my son is working his way through the LOTR trilogy, and the my other son is reading Jarhead. I miss the days of picture books :)

  6. I just read a wonderful Maurice Sendak illustrated book tonight that I had checked out from the library earlier in the day. I hope to post a review of it tomorrow.

Comments are closed.