Sunday Salon – Book Coveting Women Writers

Good morning. Right now the sun is shining and there’s not a cloud in the sky. With very little homework left to do, I plan on spending my day reading and writing posts. With so many books checked out from the library and so many of my own books piling up on my shelves, this week’s book coveting post focuses on the books I have and those written by women.

Fiction

row1

The Physick  Book of Deliverance Dane by Katherine Howe. I’ve heard so many great things about this book that I’m hoping to start reading it today. A historical thriller that goes back and forth between the Salem Trails and modern time. Witchcraft, family secrets, and more makes us this thriller.

First Light by Rebecca Stead. First Light is the story of Peter, a boy who join his parents on a trip to Greenland and Thea, a girl whose people live deep inside the article ice.

Drinking Coffee Elsewhere by ZZ Packer. I don’t read short story collections as often as I would like to, but I couldn’t ignore the praise that Packer’s debut collection has been receiving.

Nonfiction

row2

Sinners Welcome by Mary Karr.  I read The Liar’s Club by Karr a few years ago, rushed out and bought Sinners Welcome, but haven’t read more than a few poems. This volume of poetry chronicles Karr’s exploration of her faith.

Small Wonders by Barbara Kingsolver is one of my favorite books. Filled with powerful and engaging essays, Kingsolver’s essays range from topics about September 11th, surviving rape, the power of indie bookstores, why short stories are great, and more. I’m currently re-reading these essays, trying to dissect them and see how Kingsolver puts one word after another to make beautiful sentences that make up powerful essays.

Her Blue Body Everything We Know: Earthling Poems 1965-1990 Complete by Alice Walker. Though best known for The Color Purple, it is this volume of poetry that I love the most. I first read this collection when I was  a teenager. Since then I’ve re-read this many times. One of my favorite poems is “Goodnight, Willie Lee, I’ll See You in the Morning”.

Fiction

row3

Bog Child by Siobhan Dowd. I recently heard of Dowd while reading The Guardian. Dowd passed away in 2007, only three months after finishing Bog Child. She started writing at the age of 47 in 2003. All four of the books that she wrote has received rave reviews. Set in 1981, Fergus is helping his uncle with chores when he finds the body of a murdered child in the bog. It’s a coming-of-age story that’s won the 2009 Carnegie Medal award.

The Post-Birthday World by Lionel Shriver. After a kiss with a man who is not her partner, Irina McGovern, must make a decision to either give in to passion or stay in her safe relationship.

Flygirl by Sherri L. Smith.  Ida Mae Jones is a girl who dreams of flying. When the United States Army forms the Women Airforce Service Pilots (WASP), Ida decides to use her light skin to pass as white. Colleen at Chasing Ray called this book, “a historical drama that grabs you at the throat and holds on tight”.

Now the morning is almost over and I’m off to read. Have you read any of these books? What books are you coveting?

23 thoughts on “Sunday Salon – Book Coveting Women Writers

  1. Loved Small Wonders. Wanna read Post-Birthday. I have PB on my shelves and I’ve started and stopped it several times. One of these days….

  2. I had “Drinking Coffee Elsewhere” out from the library awhile ago, but only got to one story in it before it was due back with no more renews left. It’s on my TBR list to return to. I picked up “The Post-Birthday World” at a thrift shop for .35 (because it didn’t have a jacket) and keep meaning to get to that one, too.

    Enjoy your reading!

  3. Also enjoyed Small Wonders. But if I were you today, nothing would keep me from The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane. I am seriously coveting your copy! Happy reading!

  4. I loved The Color Purple, so I’ll have to try Alice Walker’s poetry at some point! And I really want to read Bog Child as well.

  5. I rarely covet books. The closest I come to that feeling is if I’ve started a series and then have trouble getting the next book! There are some Nancy Mitford and Janet Lambert books that I’d like to get my hands on, but my library doesn’t carry them and I am not a book buyer. I guess that means I don’t covet them enough.

    BTW, thanks for stopping by my blog!

  6. I almost downloaded Katherine Howe’s novel last night from Audible. I’m looking forward to your review to see if I made a mistake I need to correct next month. :) I hope you enjoyed your sunny day!

  7. I’ve not read any of these books. I did read Mary Karrs’ Liars Club and have Cherry on my TBR. Post Birthday World is another that I hope to read, I’ve heard very good things about it.

  8. Bog child looks a little dark but compelling. I might have to add this one to my list of books to get. Good luck whittling down your pile!

  9. I tried Drinking Coffee Elsewhere but couldn’t get into it very much. Then again, that’s when I wasn’t as open to short stories as I am now. I have it back on my list to check again another time. I love Barbara Kingsolver’s books I’ve read but don’t think I’d heard of this one. Or at least I didn’t realize it was a book of essays. I am adding it to my list!

  10. Small wonders sounds really good, although I’m not usually an essay girl. I so need to get Flygirl now, now, now – so much praise going around about it.

  11. I haven’t read any of these, but after reading so many good reviews on “The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane”, I really want to read it! I hope you managed to read as much as you wanted too! :)

  12. The Post Birthday World is a good one, I enjoyed it last year. It gets a little long after awhile, but I felt like the alternating chapters format was interesting.

  13. I’m reading Post-Birthday World at the moment. 100 pages in, still enjoying it.

    Would really like to read Small Wonders and Flygirl as well.

  14. I didn’t think I’d heard from you for a while – so just checked google reader. i haven’t had a new post from you since April 16th! I’m really sorry for not noticing sooner, and have no idea why your blog isn’t coming through any more, but I’ll look into it and try to fix it.

    The only one I’ve read is Deliverance Dane. I thought it was very good in some respects, but had a few major flaws. I look forward to hearing what you think.

Comments are closed.