It’s the Sunday Salon! What are you reading?

sunday salon

I know. I know. My title is wrong. It’s really supposed to say “It’s Monday” but because I have so many things I have to blog about this week,  I thought it was best if I blogged about what I plan on reading this week today. Last week was so hectic that I  only read one book, The Screwed-Up Life of Charlie the Second by Drew Ferguson, for the Nerds Heart YA tournament. You can count on Trish from Hey Lady and I writing our reviews this week. We already made a decision and passed it on to the next judge.

Because I only read one book last week, I really want to make up for it. The plan is to read between five and seven books this week.

This week I plan on reading

1

Company of Liars by Karen Maitland. I read the funniest review of this book at Book Gazing and had to put this on hold at the library. Company of Liars is a novel set in during the Plague. The description kind of reminds me of Chaucer’s The Canterbury Tales.

Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta. Thanks again to Kailana at The Written World for putting this on my radar. This week Heather at High and Hidden Place and I are reading this together. Then there will be a three-way chat with Kailana about it.

Mouse Guard: Fall 1152 by David Petersen. I checked this out from the library months ago and really want to cross this off my list.

The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger. Nymeth, Kailana, Carrie, and many other bloggers have all stated that I’m missing out since I haven’t read this yet. The trailer for the movie pushed this up my TBR pile to the very top.

A Midsummer Night’s Dream by William Shakespeare. This is leftover from the Once Upon a Time challenge.

I know that’s only five books but I’m a moody reader so I’m going to leave the rest of my choices open. So that’s what I’m reading this week. Have a great week.

What are you reading? Do you usually plan your reading ahead of time or let your mood dictate what books you read?

22 thoughts on “It’s the Sunday Salon! What are you reading?

  1. All three of my sons loved Mouse Guard: Fall 1152. I love the artwork, but haven’t found time to read it yet. I thought Company of Liars was enjoyable, but not fantastic. And I think the book blurb on the cover mentions Canterbury Tales.

    I’m glad you’re going to read The Time Traveler’s Wife – it’s wonderful!

    I’m reading The Wet Nurse’s Tale, Death Comes for the Archbishop, and The Book of Unholy Mischief. I’m listening to Life of Pi and Seven Up on audiobook.

    • How is Life of Pi? I haven’t read it but heard good and bad things about it. People either love it or hate it. Just the title of the Cather book makes me want to check it out. Niffenegger has been on my shelf for years. I’m glad to finally sit down with it this week.

      Happy reading.

  2. Looks like a good plan!

    I plan ahead of time in the sense that I put certain books on hold at the library so I can read them. But barring that, I’m a total whim reader. And I’m usually reading 4 books at once! (Plus an audiobook and short story anthology)

  3. I thought Time Travelers Wife and Life of Pi were both terrific books. I literally forced my husband to read Life of Pi when I finished because I just had to talk about the ending and I didn’t want to ruin it for him if he hadn’t read it. He loved it also. It’s quite different from other books!

  4. I honestly don’t know what I think of Life of Pi yet, but I’m determined to see it through. There are portions of it that seem very slow-moving – but I might not have noticed that as much if I was reading it instead of listening to it. Because it’s slow, I’m alternating – one disc of Life of Pi, one disc of Seven Up by Janet Evanovich.

    • Is it slow moving because of the plot or language? I can take a slow-moving book because of language like Housekeeping by Marilynne Robinson, but slow moving plot? Not so much.

  5. It’s slow-moving because it’s all in first person from Pi’s perspective, and in the first half of the book, his thoughts tend to ramble a lot. It’s all good background info, but the story doesn’t move very fast at first.

  6. I have Company of Liars too! I haven’t read it yet, probably because it’s enormous and my copy is falling apart, but I’m really looking forward to it when it happens.

    I loved The Time Traveler’s Wife! I hope you do too. =)

  7. I am a VERY moody reader. I don’t commit to reading a book until the moment I’m ready to sit down and read.

    I haven’t read Life of Pi; I haven’t been motivated enough.

  8. The Time Traveler’s Wife was a good book and with the movie coming out soon, now is a perfect time to read it! I’m finally going to finish The Secret Scripture this week…it’s been neglected lately.

  9. I just finished Little Bee, am almost done with gods in Alabama, and just picked up The Accidental at the library yesterday. I plan reading lists all the time but rarely do I follow through well. I listened to Life of Pi on CD and it was really good. The reader was wonderful.

  10. “I know that’s only five books…” LOL. Five books in one week should do it, you over-achiever. And you will really enjoy The Time Traveler’s Wife. Have to confess that it made me cry. I was that wrapped up in it. And A Midsummer’s Night Dream is always a treat. Looks like a good week ahead for you. Happy reading!

  11. Oh, I just checked out Jellicoe Road last week from library. I wasn’t planning on reading until next week but now I must read this week so I can follow along with your chat.

    Time Travelers – what a good book. Glad to see you are finally getting around to it. It can be a little slow in spots but still an excellent read. I can’t wait for the movie.

    Happy reading

  12. Eva: Four books at once? I tried that a few weeks ago but I was too impatient. Now I’m back to the one book at a time.

    Meghan: Maybe I’m a two-books-at-a-time person because I just started Company of Liars along with Jellicoe Road. Why is your copy falling apart? Is your copy a hardback?

    Heidenkind: I’m a moody reader also but I have so many books checked out right now that I really need to read. I’m trying to read what I’m in the mood for but within a huge time period.

    Joann: I heard Barry’s other book, A Long Long Way, was better. Can’t wait to read your thoughts of the book.

    Bermuda: Isn’t the cover great? I’m hoping to finish it within a new couple of days. A review will be up soon after that.

    Juliann: Maybe I should listen to Life of Pi on CD then. Your reading stack sounds great. Happy reading.

    Frances: I am an overachiever, huh? I feel a little pressure from blogging to post more reviews, so I’m trying to read a little faster. We’ll see how that works out.

    Bluestocking: Something is wrong with your site. I couldn’t leave a comment. Hope you see this message.

    Bree: Yay! I’m glad you’ll be reading this with us.Happy reading.

  13. I really liked The Time Traveler’s Wife. I hope they do a good job with the movie.

    I like a mix of planned and unplanned books. If I leave it all unplanned, I never pick up anything but fluff. My planned reading is for my book clubs, and now for reviewing. I may have over committed for July– not more than I can read, but more than I want to have scheduled. We’ll see how it works out.

  14. Keep your eye on that creey little kid in ‘Company of Liars’ – I’m just saying :) I’m excited to see what you think about this one, especially the ending.

    You are so missing tons by not having read ‘The Time Travellers Wife’. I haven’t seen the trailers for the movie but I’me afraid of seeing it in case they muck it up (and it might just break my heart all over again).

Comments are closed.