Library Loot June 12th Edition

I am two weeks behind in posting reviews and memes. Being a part of the Summer Reading Blitz has really helped me to read as many books as I want but doesn’t really help when it comes to writing reviews for those books. One of the great things about the challenge though is that I’ve been making the time to find and read some great books.

1

Who can I blame for these three books besides other bookworms? Essential Ingredients by Erica Bauermesiter is a book  I saw on more than a dozen blogs earlier this  year. It wasn’t until I read Bauermeister earlier book, 500 Great Books by Women, that I made the decision to read it. Beat the Reaper by Josh Bazell is another book that I’ve read some great things about online. Guys Lit Wire called this book a “straight-ahead acceleration driven by betrayal, revenge, and violence”. I might drop everything else to read this now. Or maybe not. 2666 by Roberto Bolano is in huge demand at my library so I only have three weeks to read and finish it for Claire and Steph’s five-month read-a-long. Something tells me I’ll probably end up buying this book.

2

The Nerds Heart YA tournament has made fall in love even more with YA. So I checked out a boatload of books from the library to read. I learned about Sweethearts by Sara Zarr from Readergirlz when they dedicated their June issue to it. I can’t even tell you what Little Audrey by Ruth White is about. The cover jacket only tells the reader that it’s based on the author’s life and a “great trauma” happens to the White family. Love, war, and compassion are some of the themes that make up the Printz award-winning novel, How I Live Now by Meg Rosoff.

3

Graceling by Kristin Cashore. I checked this book out weeks ago and returned it back to the library unread. After Kailana read it, she told me to check it back out, so now it’s on my shelves again. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky is one of the most banned books in the United States. Written in letter format to an unnamed person, the main character Charlie is one that many readers love. I picked up Skin Deep by E.M. Crane for the  beautiful cover without any idea what it’s about.

4

The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides was recommended by both Bibliobrat and Beth, so that was all I needed to check it out. Am I the only one who haven’t watched the movie? Annie on My Mind by Nancy Garden is another banned book. I read this when I was younger and loved it. Summer is a perfect time for rereading. Ann Hood’s memoir, Comfort, about the death of her young daughter is devastating but beautiful. It’s a book that leaves you in tears and with the prayer that you never go through the same thing. The Knitting Circle is the fictional account of what happened afterwards and about the healing power of knitting and the waves of grief.

6

The Wilderness by Samantha Harvey was shortlisted this year for the Orange Prize. Jill at The Magic Lasso is once again hosting the Orange July challenge. The Wilderness is the tale of Jacob as he struggles to remember his past through the fog of Alzheimer’s that he has. I’ve read that The Selected Works of T.S. Spivet by Reif Larsen is probably the book of the year. A twelve-year-old genius hitchhikes from Divide, Montana to Washington, D.C. to accept an award from the Smithsonian. Family, fame, and loss are some of the themes that make this book special.

This is only a third of the great books I checked out from the library this week. Have you visited your local library lately? What have you checked out?

24 thoughts on “Library Loot June 12th Edition

  1. Cor! Some great reading ahead of you there!

    Whilst I hate the cover, I was convinced my Nymeth’s review to grab a copy of Sweethearts. Hoping to get to that on this week at some point.

    How I Live Now: is an excellent read, once you get used to the style. Read it a couple of weeks ago.

    Perks: Utterly brilliant.

    T.S. Spivit: Not read it yet, but I bought it the moment I first picked it up and looked inside, it looks just gorgeous! (Different cover in the UK though)

  2. I have visited my library this week. I checked out some books for the Take a Chance Challenge, as well as Beastly by Alex Flinn and Melusine by Sarah… something. Bonnet or Conner, I think.

  3. As you know, I loved T.S. Spivet! It was such a fabulous book. I’ve been very happy to see that others, including critics, have felt similarly. I hope you like it too!

    I’m waiting impatiently for Graceling to come in at my library for me!

  4. I waited too long to read 2666 and had to return it to the library. I wanted to buy the copy where it’s divided by section and all boxed together, but no one seems to have it. I guess I’ll just have to buy the hardback copy.

  5. WOW — this is only one-third of the books?! How I envy you having the time to read all these wonderfully varied stories. I hope to do some catch up fun reading in August.

    Perhaps you should join Maw’s Book review challenge? It might help you get caught up :) I need to join, but it is not at a convenient time for me this year.

  6. Glad you’ll be joining our read-along! It will be interesting to see how someone who reads it in a 3-week span feels about 2666.

    I haven’t seen The Virgin Suicides movie either… I recently purchased the book and will read it soon (hopefully!).

    And I’ve been hearing great stuff about The Wilderness. Can’t wait for your review!

  7. I got Little Bee and Say You’re One of Them from my library this week. Started Little Bee and love it.
    just wanted to say that I get so many great ideas for books from your site. Thanks for posting them
    Juliann

  8. The Selected Works of TS Spivet is meant to be fantastic. They did a rave review of it in our Waterstones magazine and I added it to my list then. I can’t believe this was only a third of the books you checked out – did you take a trolley?

  9. I absolutely loved Graceling! I hope you like it too. I look forward to hearing your opinion of 2666. I’ve seen a lot of mixed reviews for that one.

  10. Bart: You’re making me so excited for all the reading I have ahead of me. The UK version of the TS Spivet cover is lovely.

    Heidenkind: I’ve been thinking about signing up for that challenge. It sounds like a lot of fun. Good luck with it.

    Meghan: You’re the reason why I’m planning on reading Spivet. I loved your review.

    Christina: That’s the copy of 2666 that I was hoping to receive from the library. Instead they gave me the hardcover copy. If I don’t read it within the next three weeks, I plan on buying the paperback version.

    Bermudaonion: I can’t wait to read both books! I’ve heard some great things about Beat the Reaper.

    Molly: Thanks for the heads-up. I went and signed up.I can’t wait to catch up on reviews.

    Steph: Thanks for hosting the read-along. I can’t wait to get started.

    Eva: Can’t wait to read Virgin Suicides. I have Middlesex on my bookshelves now.

    Kailana: Thanks!

    Garner Woods: I’ve heard great things about 2666. Will start reading it this week.

    Juliann: Little Bee is on my TBR list. Thanks for visiting 1330v.

    Suziqoregon: I’m the same way. I’m addicted to my library holds system. =)

    Carrie: Hopefully I’ll be able to read it next week.

    Fern: It was shortlisted for the Orange prize, so it’s on my list. I’ve read some great reviews on it.

    Vivienne: LOL! No, I didn’t have a trolley but I needed one. People looked at me strange when I left the library with so many books.

    Alyce: I’m determined to finish it by its due date.I cannot wait to sit down with Graceling!

  11. Hi! Thanks for the nice comment on my blog. :) I am glad I joined the Summer Reading Blitz, too! I haven’t had much time to read this past week, though.. so I need to speed it up! ;)

    I think it was a bad idea I read this.. SO many of the books you mentioned are on my “TBR” list! (Beat the Reaper, 2666, Graceling , etc…

    I didn’t have The Wilderness by Samantha Harvey – but I’m going to add it to the list of books to look into. I enjoy books nominated/shortlisted/etc for the Orange Prize and especially the Booker Prize.

    Little Bee I see is mentioned in the comment above this – that is on my list. The Secret Scripture by Sebastian Barry and The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley are on my list. (someone just recommended it) Oh! April & Oliver by Tess Callahan. :)

    Have you read The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society ?

    The Virgin Suicides has been on my bookshelf for ages. I still have not read Middlesex! That is on my summer list. (plus many many books that fall into the urban-fantasy category)

    Hope you had a great weekend with lots of reading time!

  12. You’ve got some great books listed in this post! I loved the audio version of School of Essential Ingredients, but hadn’t heard about 500 Great Books By Women. I’m off to my library’s website now to see if they have it. My daughter has The Perks of Being a Wallflower…I keep meaning to grab that one off her shelf!

  13. Wow, you have some great books there! I am heading over to the library myself today. I won’t be getting as many wonderful books as you, though. I live vicariously through you and others as I cannot read nearly as fast and my attention span is that of a gnat. I want to read most of these books, especially 2666 and Beat the Reaper. My library doesn’t even have Beat the Reaper yet and 2666 has a waiting list of about 2 years I think, lol. And don’t worry about reviews while you are doing this challenge. Just post a tiny blurb about what you just finished and what is up next or something if you want.

  14. that’s a lotta books! I went to the library yesterday but didn’t check anything out. I just go to schmooze with my peeps :-)

  15. Pingback: Mondays- June 22 « 1330v

Comments are closed.