The Latent Powers of Dylan Fontaine

lurieThe Latent Powers of Dylan Fontaine (2008)
April Lurie
224 pages
Young Adult

Dear Chris,

After reading this book, I searched through the Nerds Heart YA group posts to see who’s the genius behind nominating this book for the tournament. And it’s you! I couldn’t believe it. Well, yeah, I could. I mean you’re constantly adding books to my TBR pile all the time. But it was you! You’re my hero!

If you hadn’t nominated this book for the tournament I doubt I would have picked it up. I was too busy zoning out studying that I missed your post about it. I’m starting to realize how great many of the books that have been nominated for the tournament are. The Latent Powers of Dylan Fontaine is a book I want to put in the hands of every blogger I know.

Dylan Fontaine is a guy in the middle of the chaos that he calls life. His mom left the family for another man, his father works all the time as an obstetrician, and his older brother, Randy, is a weed-head who refuses to use an ounce of the talent he has. It’s Dylan who tries to keep everything going by cooking, cleaning, and trying to keep his brother out of trouble. On top of all that Dylan is in love with his best friend, Angie, but is scared to tell her how he feels.

Chris, this book is a page-turner. I sat in my living room the other day and ignored everything to read it. Sex, drug arrests, running from the police, fights. . . this book had everything but boy-on-boy kissing. (Too bad.) All those things aren’t there just to keep the story interesting, they help Dylan figure out who he is. Who is Dylan Fontaine in the middle of all these roles he play to keep from living his own life?

I read your review, Chris, and I agree with you that there is so much to this book that to describe it, is to go on forever about it. Lurie did a fantastic job capturing the essence of adolescence while making readers care about every character in the book.

With Kelly judging the match up of  The Latent Powers of Dylan Fontaine against Leftovers by Sarah Weiss, I cannot wait until June 21st to find out which book makes it to the next round. Thanks for recommending this book.

-V

Other reviews by some great bloggers

Chris (of course)

Becky

18 thoughts on “The Latent Powers of Dylan Fontaine

  1. Chris sent me a copy of this just the other day and I’m DYING to read it. I’m glad to hear you agree that it’s brilliant :D The only reason why I haven’t yet is because…what if it makes the finals? I should read it closer to when we have to decide in that case. But anyway, I’m pretty sure I’ll love it too.

  2. Yes, Chris is to blame for a lot of my TBR pile as well! And this one was on my wishlist even before this review. Guess it’s just moved up a place or two! :)

  3. Wow, this looks good! You sure convinced me to add this one to my TBR list! And I love the letter format for your review, it was really nice to read! :)

  4. Nymeth: I can’t wait to read your thoughts on it. Happy reading!

    Biblio Brat: Thank you so much!

    Bermudaonion: Thanks!

    Gautami: I hope you can get yous hands on this. It’s a great read.

    Vivienne: I’m so glad that Chris recommended it.

    Mishel: Happy reading!

    Iliana: I hope you read it.

    Valentina: Read it!

    Bart: My TBR pile would probably be only half of its size if it wasn’t for Chris and Nymeth.

    Natasha: Thanks. It was one of the easiest reviews to write.

    Kay: Thank you so much!

    Kailana: I can’t wait to read your review.

    Belle: Thanks so much!

  5. It’s so awesome to see people saying they’ve never heard of this before & are now going to read it. :) Nerds Heart YA success!

  6. Pingback: Review – The Latent Powers of Dylan Fontaine by April Lurie « Regular Rumination

  7. Pingback: 33rd Edition: Whatcha Reading « The Bookworms Carnival

Comments are closed.