Sunday Salon: Reading events

sunday salonIt’s amazing that May is almost over with. It’s been a forgettable month. I can barely remember what I’ve accomplished. Book-wise I didn’t accomplish much, reading only three adult, four young adult, and fourteen children’s books.

11

I couldn’t give you just one book as my favorite this month, so I’m going to give you my top two. Sarah Stewart’s The Friend, a children’s book about unconditional love and the short story collection/graphic novel Tales of Outer Suburbia by Shaun Tan. Both books are amazing and highly recommended.

Shauna at Reading and Ruminations has been in a reading funk and came up with a great personal challenge. called the Summer Reading Blitz. She wants to read 30 books in 30 days for the month of June. I think it’s such a great idea that I’m joining her. I have a stack of books lined up, ready and waiting.

Also joining the challenge are fellow bloggers

Becky at Becky’s Book Reviews

Brittanie at A Book Lover

Ruth at BookishRuth

Shauna and Brittanie will be hosting giveaways throughout June. Make sure you’re subscribed to their blogs so you don’t miss out.

June is also the start of

nerdsheartya

a young adult reading tournament that is the brainchild of the bold Renay. From June 1st through August 2nd, twenty bloggers will be judging sixteen young adult novels, published in 2008, that should’ve received more attention. If you click on the above icon, you can see the books that are being judged.

The judges are:

Valentina, Valentina’s Room
Jodie, Book Gazing
Natasha, Maw Books Blog
Ali, Worducopia and Lenore, Presenting Lenore
Mary Ann, Libr*fiti
Trish, Hey Lady! Whatcha Readin’ and Vasilly, 1330v
Kelly, YAnnabe
Becky, Becky’s Book Reviews, and Kailana, The Written World
Heather, A High and Hidden Place
Amy, My Friend Amy
Laza, Gimme More Books!
Stephanie, Stephanie’s Confessions of a Book-a-Holic
Nicole, Linus’s Blanket
Renay, YA Fabulous and Susan, She’s Too Fond Of Books And It’s Turned Her Brain
Chris, Stuff As Dreams Are Made On and Nymeth, Things Mean A Lot

Look out for reviews and updates on the tournament from the judges. Nerdsheartya is also on Twitter. I’m so excited, I’m hoping to read all the shortlisted books.

If you didn’t know already, next weekend is the start of Mother Reader‘s 48 Hour Challenge. For 48 hours bloggers all over the blogisphere will be reading as much as they can. You don’t have to read for 48 hours straight, but within a 48 hour period of time. Of course I’m in.

Posts from this week:

500 Great Books by Women
10 Fiction Books for Summer

What are you reading this week? Have you signed up for the 48 hour challenge?

11 thoughts on “Sunday Salon: Reading events

  1. I wish I could focus on any of this right now but I am so overwhelmed at work with next week’s Family Reading Night that I cannot even mouth the words “48 hours of reading and blogging.” Maybe I can come back to it after Wednesday. Today I am reading randomly here and there, and taking some time out for Wicked Plants. Happy reading!

  2. I might try for 30 books in 30 days in June. I’ll be house-sitting for a week so I’ll have plenty of time to read!

    I’m still trying to figure out my summer reading plans. I really want to put a huge dent in my TBR list by the end of the year. Right now I have over 200 unread books and some of those books have been sitting on my shelf for years!

  3. 30 books in 30 days! You are an inspiration, no way could I do that. I am going to try and put a dent in the TBR books that I own this summer. Somehow the piles keep growing. Have a great week!

  4. Frances: I hope things at work become a little lighter for you. I’m adding Wicked Plants to my reading list. Have a great week.

    Ruth: We would love to have you join.Happy reading!

    Gavin: My pile is growing too! Have a great week.

    Claire Collins: Thanks!

    Kailana: I cannot wait! I’m so happy. It’s so exciting to be a part of Nerds Heart Ya. Renay is so cool.

  5. I’m looking forward to following you in the 30 books challenge and the YA tournament. That is an excellent idea. I may have to pick up the books as well.

  6. I am so proud of you and the other participants in the Summer Reading Blitz. I know I could never read a book a day, but I will cheer you on for sure!

Leave a Reply

