Library Loot

My library loot has been piling up lately. I have less than 36 hours until the end of the semester and I’ve started placing large amounts of books on hold. If I’m lucky I can cut the stack in half in a month. If I’m lucky.

1

Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta. I’ve seen great reviews for this book all over the blogisphere so I had to pick it up. It’s this year’s Printz award winner. I can’t wait to sit down with this book.

The Knife of Letting Go by Patrick Ness. Renay has been pumping this book up, so I had to check it out.

Che: A biography by Spain Rodriguez. I picked this one up because I love the cover.

2
Still Alice by Lisa Genova.

Girl with a Dragon Tattoo by Steig Larsson. It’s a thriller and from what I’ve read a great book. If it’s it as good as bloggers have been saying, I won’t have to wait long for the release of the seqeul, The Girl Who Played with Fire.

Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Last Straw by Jeff Kinney.I’ve read the first two in the series and couldn’t pass this one up. This is one of the hottest series to hit my library’s system since Harry Potter.

What’s waiting for me to pick up:

3

Follow Me by Joanna Scott. I’m blaming this on every blogger that read this book and wrote a review.

Flannery: A Life of Flannery O’Connor by Bard Gooch. I’m reading as much as I can right now, so I can start on this book next week.

The rest of my library loot was featured in this week’s Sunday Salon post: Book Coveting.

What did you check out this week from the library?

21 thoughts on “Library Loot

  1. WOW — 36 hours left to go and then you can celebrate!!

    All those books look wonderful. I will be anxious to read your reviews.

    Good luck with finals and/or papers.

  2. A Che Guevera graphic novel?? I have to get that!!! Fantastic loot this week! Good luck with the rest of the semester..I know you must have something fun planned to celebrate it being over, right? ;)

  3. Good haul! I have no hope of catching up with my library pile. I am still suffering the affects of ‘renew all’ instead of ‘renew selected’.

    Have you read Girl meets boy by Ali Smith? I read it yesterday. You should add it to your list. :)

  4. I’ve read a couple of great reviews for Still Alice, and I just reviewed a graphic novel biography, but I think it is MUCH different than Che! ;-)

  5. Eva, Kathy, and Molly: Thanks! I can’t wait to start reading.

    Chris: I didn’t even think of celebrating. Maybe I’ll just sit around the house all day reading!

    Kailana: I read Hotel Word by Smith but not Girls Meets Boy. I’m putting it on my TBR list. Have you read Hotel World? It’s great.

    Vivienne: Jellicoe Road won an award so I hope it is.

    Susan: I can’t wait to read your thoughts of Jellicoe Road.

    JoAnn: Serious? I have to check your blog out.

  6. So is “school – out for the summer” (insert Alice Cooper music)

    I know I already commented on this post of great library loot, but I needed to let you know that I gave you the “friendly blogger” award today.

    Enjoy this weekend – and the start to a great summer vacation.

  7. I am currently reading Still Alice and I just picked up The cellist of Sarajevo by Steven Galloway. That book about Flannery O’Connor has peaked my interest. Off to see if my library has that book.

  8. Great list! I’ve heard great things about most of these books, and I thought that Still Alice was a really good read.

  9. This week I checked out the 6th issue of Vampire Knight. That’s about it. The Che graphic novel looks fab; I’ll have to look into that.

  10. lots of books there I want to read too!I had never seen that Biography of Che Guevara, it looks cool. Girl with the dragon tattoo and Knife are both on my list of “must read asap”:)

  11. Nothing I’m afraid. I’ve so been meaning to go to the library and checking out books but I’m a book-buying fiend. sigh. I do have many of these on my TBR list so I really look forward to your thoughts.

    P.S. I’m so glad you stopped by my blog, otherwise I would never have come to yours. I love your unique layout and I hope you don’t mind if I hang around your place =)

  12. I laughed right out loud when I read the first Wimpy Kid book. I haven’t read any of the others though, I’ll have to get to them. Thanks for stopping by my blog today!
    Happy reading! :-)

  13. I’ve have checked out Flannery O’Connor books from the library from time to time, but never got around reading any of them. But they are mentioned from time to time and now that I am about to get a lot more time on my hands, maybe I should try again!

  14. Molly: Thank you so much for the award. I’m honored.

    Juliann: I hope they have it for you. I can’t wait to read it.

    Alice: I heard some great things about it.

    Heidenkind: I keep hearing about Vampire Knight. I’m going to have to check it out.

    Valentina: I can’t wait to read them both. I feel so lucky having so many great books on my shelves just waiting for me.

    Marie: Thanks!

    Mishel: Thank you so much for stopping by.Take your time.=)

    Nan: The second one was so funny. I hope you give it a try.

    Literate Housewife: I can’t wait to read your thoughts on it.

    Louise: Flannery O’Connor was such a talented writer. She has left me in awe of her talent many times.

Comments are closed.