Bones of Faerie by Janni Lee Simner

simner Bones of Faerie (2009)
Janni Lee Simner
247 pages
Young adult/Dystopian fiction
Well-Read Ladies pick for May


Summary

A devastating war between human and Faerie leaves both sides changed forever. Liza, a young girl, has only heard of the Before which is so different from the aftermath. Humans live in small villages instead of cities. Modern technology is a thing of the past. Even nature is now an enemy where trees can attack at will and plants are not to be trusted. The one lesson that Liza has learned from her cruel father is to never let anything magical in. Your life depends on it.

But when Liza’s mother gives birth one night, the child is different. Born with hair as clear as glass, Liza’s father knows the baby is part Faerie and abandons it on a hillside to die. Soon after Liza’s mother disappears and Liza is left alone with her father to fend for herself. When Liza realizes that she has the power to see into the past and future, she too flees in search of her mother and a safe place to live.

My thoughts

I think Bones of Faerie is a pretty good book. The aftermath of the war between the two races was believable. Teh author constantly illustrated the effects of the war: people had to pump their water and grow plants that could possibly kill them if they wanted to live. Liza’s display of strength and her relationship with Matthew, a boy from her neighborhood, was also entertaining.

What I didn’t like was that readers were never given a reason for the war, just a quick explanation that the two sides didn’t get along. I wanted to know the details behind the war and what lead up to it. I wanted a feel for both sides like you do with Hunger Games.

I still think it’s a good read. The story captures your attention and doesn’t let you go until the end.

Other reviews:
Becky

8 thoughts on “Bones of Faerie by Janni Lee Simner

  1. I love the cover and a dystopian world with faeries in it sounds awesome. I’d love to read it. Is there any grounds for a sequel you think, where they might explore the other side?

  2. Sounds like a good idea that could have been executed a little bit better. I like the cover but it doesn’t look like it relates to the story.

  3. Knowing that the end does leave an opening for a sequel makes me want to read this. I figure a lot of problems with first books can be tied up nicely in future books.

  4. Bermudaonion: Now that you mention it, it does a little. If it hadn’t been a book club pick, I wouldn’t have picked it up based on the cover.

    Joanne: I can see a lot more drama happening in the next book based on the last couple of chapters.

  5. Whoa! I like your new look. Its like a newspaper. Are you finished with it or just playing?

    I just saw this book at the book fair and considered picking it up. What age level would you say its for besides young adult?

Comments are closed.