Library Loot for April

I haven’t participated in showing my library loot since last month. So instead of just showing you what I checked out yesterday, I’m going to also show you what I still have out. Hopefully I’ll get into gear and most of  this stack will be  read within the month, perfect timing for summer vacation.

row1

Laika by Nick Abadzis

Skellig by David Almond

Comic Book Tattoo

row2

A Fine and Private Place by Peter S. Beagle (really I need to hurry and read this)

Psyche in a Dress by Francesca Lia Block

Masterpiece by Elise Broach.

row3

The Sisters Grim #2: The Unusual Suspects by Michael Buckley

Black Swan, White Raven edited by Ellen Datlow

Beauty and the Beast by Max Eilenberg

row4

The Music Teacher by Barbara Hall.

The Story is You by Arthur Phillips.

The Seance by John Harwood.

row5

Cannery Row by  John Steinbeck

How I learned to drive by Paula Vogel. Won 1998  Pulitzer Prize in Drama.

All Souls by Cathleen Schutt. It was a finalist for this year’s Pulitzer Prize in fiction.

row6

The Woman in Black: A Ghost Story by Susan Hill

The Haiku Anthology edited by Cor van den Heuvel

Maus I by Art Speigelman. 1992 Pulitzer: Special Awards and Citations in Letters

row7

Crumbs From the Table of Joy by Lynn Nottage. Nottage won this year’s Pulitzer for her play, Ruined. Since my library doesn’t have it yet, I decided to check out Crumbs.

The Goose Girl by Shannon Hale.

The History of Love by Nicole Krauss. Shortlisted for Orange Prize in 2006

row81
The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society by Mary Ann Scaffer and Annie Barrows. I’m listening to this on audio while I read the book.

Peter Pan by J.M. Barrie. Same thing with Pan as with Guernsey. The kids love being “read” to.

Graceling by Kristin Cashore. During School Library Journal’s Battle of the Books, many wanted The Hunger Games to go up against Graceling to see who would win. It made me curious, so hopefully I’ll read this soon.

So that’s my library loot for April.

11 thoughts on “Library Loot for April

  1. Wow, hope you get to read all that in May. And you’ve got some awesome titles. I really loved History of Love. Waiting for your thoughts on All Souls and The Guernsey..

  2. You got Comic Book Tattoo!!!!!! Are you a Tori Amos fan? Even if you’re not, you’re in for a treat, but if you are, you’ll be in love! I bought that one and I’m so glad that I did. I swear, Vasilly..you have such great taste in books! I should just have you pick my reads for now on ;)

  3. There is a load of books in that pile I would like to read. I shall have to spend the next half hour writing them down. I hope you get to read them all. Can’t wait to hear about The Seance.

  4. I think I have 10 books out from the library right now, which is actually a pretty huge number for me, Not compared to you though — good luck finishing all of these in May!

  5. Wow, you made out with the horde! The Hunger Games would beat out Graceling (though I liked Graceling too) hands down. It’s an uneven match up. I don’t think I’ve read a book since H.G. that’s been able to match up.
    Happy Reading.

  6. Claire: I’ve been listening to Guernsey and it’s a great book so far. Really lovely.

    Chris: You are the best! But who are we kidding? I get all of my taste from you!

    Kailana: Fingers crossed!

    Kim: Ten is huge. I just went crazy with the holds button last month. Thanks.

    Bermudaonion: Thanks!

    Serena: I can’t wait to read it. I have a ton of books I’m in the middle of right now, so it will have to wait.

    T.Y.: Serious? That is the biggest and best compliment I’ve heard HG receive ever!

    Memory: Thanks! I can’t wait to finish both.

  7. What a great batch of books! I’ve only read three on your list, and they were all good (Maus, Guernsey & Graceling). In regards to what T.Y. said, I agree that Hunger Games was awesome, but I actually preferred Graceling. I think it’s because I love reading fantasy books.

Leave a Reply

