Weekly Geeks: Your inner child and poetry

This week’s Weekly Geeks is the brainchild of Becky. I have to say this week’s assignment is tied with my absolute favorite assignment which is a quote a day.

Option A: Be a kid.

  • You could read a picture book (or two or three) and share what you read.
  • Write up a post sharing your favorite books from childhood.
    Write up a post about reading together with your child(ren).

Option B: Be a poet.

  • Write your own poem and share with us!
  • Write bookish ABC poems–ABC’s of favorite authors, favorite books, favorite characters, favorite book blogs, or any combination of the above. Maybe even an ABC’s of a bibliophile or book addict. (A is for…B is for…etc.)(For example, ABC’s of Dr. Seuss)
  • Review a book you’ve read recently in haiku. (It doesn’t need to be a poetry book you’re reviewing, any book will do.) See Emilyreads for an idea of what I mean.
  • Read a poetry book and review it.
  • Participate in Poetry Friday (This week’s host will be Carol’s Corner.)

Isn’t this a great assignment? I think throughout this week I’ll attempt to do every idea.

*****

About two years ago I came up with the idea to start a book club in my home. Mind you the only members are everyone who lives here but the kids loved the idea.  So we came up with a name and agreed or I decided that every night, right before bedtime, we would get together and share our favorite books and read to each other. Even the boys, who are the youngest, could pick out a book to share and read. I thought it would be nice to share with everyone our favorite picks of the week.

Van’s pick is Princess Peepers by Pam Calvcalvertert (2008). Illustrated by Tuesday Mourning. 40 pages.

Princes Peepers is a girl who knows who she is. She loves wearing glasses and has one for each of her favorite outfits. But when she starts a new school and gets laughed at, she throws every pair of glasses into her trunk and promises never to use them again.

The story started out great until the end when the princess meets Prince Peerless and go away with him. Van loved the book but I felt the end wasn’t necessary. Don’t we have enough books with princess riding off with princes? Princess Peepers didn’t find confidence with herself until she met the prince.  What really kills me is the fact that both prince and princess look like they are no older than ten. *sigh* This is one that won’t be added to our home collection.

spinelli-eVal’s pick is Someday by Eileen Spinelli (2007). Illustrated by Rosie Winstead. 32 pages.

Someday is about a little girl’s longing for more than what she has in her life presently. One of the things she longs for us to be a great artist who paints by the sea but instead she’s helping her dad paint the shed. At the end of the book, the little girl finally thinks it’s okay to be mindful of the present.

Av’s pick: Dinosaur vs Bedtime by Bob Shea (2008). At three sheayears old, Avi’s the baby of the family but don’t tell him that. He won’t believe you. For the last two weeks I have been reading Dinosaur vs. Bedtime every morning, noon, and night. Imagine my surprise when Avram read the book to me yesterday. I’m surprise I didn’t cry.

martin-claudia-and-mean-janinePip’s pick is The Baby-Sitters Club: Claudia and Mean Janine(2008). Written by Ann M. Martin. Illustrated by Raina Telgemeiser. 176 pages.

One of the funny things that never fails to surprise me is that motherhood makes you go full-circle in your life. I was the same age as Pip (7) when I discovered this series.  Claudia and Mean Janine is actually book seven in the original series.

Claudia and Janine are sisters who can’t get along. Janine is a genius who lives at her computer desk while Claudia is the artist with a passion for junk food. When their grandmother has a stroke after having an argument with Claudia, Claudia blames herself. The sisters come together to help their grandmother get better.

Oli (age 5) doesn’t have a favorite  pick. I think it might bepattou because he’s been going to sleep earlier than everyone this week, so I’ve been reading to him from my own reads. I read the first several chapters of East by Edith Pattou and several poems from various poets like Raymond Carver, Langston Hughes, and Christina Rossetti. I haven’t bored him yet so I’m calling it a success.

16 thoughts on “Weekly Geeks: Your inner child and poetry

  1. I love that idea, too. I’ll try it one day with my boys.. thanks! Dinosaur vs. Bedtime looks like something they might enjoy, too. :D Loved your post.

  2. Wonderful to hear about your family book club – sometimes I wish I could turn the clock back when I hear about a great idea like this :)
    My children all love reading, however, so I can´t have done everything wrong. My daughters even read more than I do, and the elder studies literature at the university.

  3. Becky: Thanks!

    Claire: Thanks, Claire. I noticed all the kids love the book but my youngest ones love it the most.

    Pussreboots: Happy reading!

    Dorte: It sounds like your kids are doing great.

  4. How great that your kids enjoy reading, too. Those books sound really good. I read a bunch of Babysitter’s Club books when I was younger, but I didn’t know they were making graphic novels of the series now. That’s so cool!

  5. Reading with your kids is definitely part of the magic of motherhood. Please thank Van, Val, Av and Pip for their contributions

  6. When my boys are old enough, I’m definately using this idea. We’re going to pick out a name for us and .. oh I’m really looking forward to it :) It’s great that you’re encouraging reading with your children.

  7. What a wonderful thing a family book club would be.
    Your children will grow up thinking of it as a natural and fun thing to be part of. You are one smart mother.

  8. Such a great idea & I’m so jealous not to have any little ones to use it with! (Loved the Dinosaur Roar author read-aloud too)

  9. Hi,

    I wanted to speak to your review of Princess Peepers. You said she didn’t find confidence in herself until she met the prince, but it had nothing to do with the prince when she realized the error of her ways. It was that she mistook him for a horse–finally, she realized that she wasn’t being true to herself. The ending had nothing to do with her self realization. It was merely a twist on the classic fairytale genre…

    This book was written with little girls in mind who care too much about what they look like or what the world thinks and to actually be true to themselves.

    Maybe having a prince in the end put you off, but I thought I’d clarify. :-)

    Happy reading!

    Pam :-)

  10. Hey, Pam!

    Thanks for clarifying! I love how Princess Peepers was so confident at first in the story. She wore glasses and loved it. It was a part of who she is. Her leaving with the prince at the end was off-putting. Thank you for visiting my blog.

Comments are closed.